Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jun 15, 2012 | 6:12 PM EDT
  • Daily 3rd Place June 17, 2012
  • Weekly 3rd Place June 20, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

My senior thesis animation I did at SVA in New York. It is a science fiction/horror story about a man who is trying to escape his past but has his conscious and ghosts from his past to deal with.

Reviews


Pwnage101Pwnage101

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 20, 2012

What people don't seem to understand... is that a story like this doesn't NEED to explain every detail... it's made to let the viewer assume. To fantasize. There's no real, or direct, ending possibility, or point. Anything you make of this is your own.

For example: (P.S. WATCH BEFORE YOU READ THIS!)

In my head, they were at the brink of a breakthrough in finding out how to use Wormholes in travel. When the computer tried to warn them that the path they were taking would end up badly, his wife (my assumption) tried to take them off the path. The husband, seemingly a bit controlling, but less adept with the technology, took offense to her changing the path, and struck her dumbfounded. However, when their immediate destruction was at hand, he panicked. The wife, seeing his stubborn problem, attempted to reroute the technology for the wormhole jump, and sent her husband to the pod in case of an emergency. When she realized all hope was lost, she made a mad dash for the pod, narrowly missing it by seconds. The man is torn that his wife, and their years of work, both being his entire purpose in life, flashed away in front of his very eyes. Three years later, the man has made enough money from the now successful technology that they had developed, now that he could finish it from what he remembered. He finds himself drinking in a bar one day, stewing over the extremely small measure that they had missed, and that cause his wife's death. So, he decides to go home on a different route, one that would allow him to think longer and perhaps sleep. When suddenly, the familiar signal from his former ship rang through his newest red ship. The man can't believe his eyes. He can hardly contain his surprise. When he boards the ship, he does not expect at all to find his wife alive, after noting a strange, flesh-like parasite clinging to the abandoned walls of the ship. So he continues, noting a light as he goes. When he finally sees the light's shape, he is blown away: it was her! His wife had lived after all!... Or had she? When the goopy parasite had attached to his hand, he swung it away and kept going. He finally reached her, only to push his hand through her... Like a hologram. He chased fervently, hoping for another glimpse of even the former shadow of her beauty, when it happened... The parasite attacked. It grabbed him with so much force that he fell to the ground, and he passed out, with little oxygen left. Before he could truly die, however, his wife did what she had done to herself. The hologram of his wife was actually an embodiment of her mind, a CPU device that held her thoughtd, dreams, and emotions. When the man was dreaming, his body was dying, but the dream was real, figuratively. She had been sifting the information from his mind, into the ship's mainframe, as she had when the foreign parasite had attached to the ship after she came out in unknown space. Her CPU mainframe had spent the last three years searching for her beloved husband. And now that the two were together, forever, lost in the confines of their previously lost research, his physical embodiment became no more, and his CPU self had reunited with his wife. With their bodies dead, but their minds alive, and the ship out of fuel... they would float in their serenity, in love. Forever.

I love this animation. Take it any way you will, but this is just how I saw it... And I just want you to know... information doesn't always make the animation. The animator does. With their heart.


People find this review helpful!

HarmonicBluesHarmonicBlues

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 15, 2012

That was extremely well done. Very engaging and touching as well as being very well drawn and animated, this short film made sure to impress. One thing that really left a mark was the amazingly well done audio design, with which you did a very good job. It seems to me that a lot people neglect audio design in favor of visual design, without realizing the incredible power and difference good audio design makes, and as such I was very delighted to hear such altogether wonderfully composed audio, music and SFX alike.

The story does what it sets out to do and provides a very touching and interesting experience. The art style is beautiful and helps portray a form of emotional connection to the characters, short lived as they may be. All in all you did a very good job, especially in the audio department. Keep up the good work!



markeyesetmarkeyeset

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 22, 2012

makes me sad, but happy. awesome music and animation. theres a twist at the end



CarpetBonesCarpetBones

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 18, 2012

Your art style is like nothing I have seen before.


People find this review helpful!

xAyjAyxAyjAy

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 19, 2012

he felt guilty and died in the ship. but he found her or her ghost, i do not know.