Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jun 11, 2012 | 3:44 PM EDT
  • Daily 2nd Place June 13, 2012
  • Weekly 4th Place June 13, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

A cat wakes up surrounded by water and must learn to survive.

My Blog: http://gzilbalodis.tumblr.com/

This has been my passion project for the last year an a half. It started as vague ideas of a cat, ocean and overcoming fear. Then through numerous battles with the script it shaped up to something similar you can see now. After seven drafts I felt that it was ready to start storyboarding, but the film kept evolving all the way until the sound mix was done. I kept learning about filmmaking everyday, going through all of the different processes.
I chose the cat as the main character mainly to save time with exposition, because people know that generally cats are afraid of water. So I could just jump right into action. Plus cat is a fairly small creature and the ocean seems even bigger to him. And of course cats are much easier to draw than humans.
The music is by my friend Bertrams Pauls Purviskis who helped a great deal to tell the story the way it was intended. Music had a lot of to convey in very little time and it came out much better than I could have ever expected.
I have been delaying the release for quite some time, because as I learned by making it, a lot of mistakes made earlier when I did not have the experience had to be remade from scratch. I am glad it is finally done and I can show it to the world.

Software: Photoshop, Toon Boom Animate Pro, After Effects, Logic Pro, Final Cut Pro, Brushes app
Hardware: iMac, Macbook Pro, Wacom Intuos 4, iPod touch
Other: Also made a clay model of the cat and miniatures of the boat and the tree

Reviews


FatalDaemonoidFatalDaemonoid

Rated 4 / 5 stars June 13, 2012

I understand that the movment of the camera was supposed to inhance movement but at times it got to be a bit much. But, that wasn't enough to be a hinderance to the overall animation quality. It was very artistic and the colours gave it a more lively feel to it.
Truely candy for the eyes :D



crashbangcrashbang

Rated 4 / 5 stars June 21, 2012

The music is un, believable. I could honestly listen to it all day. And it really made me care about the cat, which is a big bonus. Animation was also great of course.



TeslaWrenchTeslaWrench

Rated 4 / 5 stars June 15, 2012

Beautiful background artwork, decent story and mostly fluent, dynamic animation which , together with the sheer lenght of the movie, justifies the rather minimalistic character design.

I was especially impressed by your use of blurr, lighting and camera shake effects to transport the idea of subjective motion of both the characters and the viewer as well as the environment.

Keep going, You got some serious talent!


People find this review helpful!

Levi2OLevi2O

Rated 4 / 5 stars June 21, 2012

I loved almost everything about it. The only thing I din't like was how at the beginning the camera shaked uncontrolably. Other than that I loved it. The art was good, the music was good, and it had a verry good but unusual way of explaining you need to adapt or die. I didn't realy understand the way the terain changed instantly.



LOST-TALELOST-TALE

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars June 15, 2012

``Beautiful background artwork, decent story and mostly fluent, dynamic animation which , together with the sheer lenght of the movie, justifies the rather minimalistic character design.

I was especially impressed by your use of blurr, lighting and camera shake effects to transport the idea of subjective motion of both the characters and the viewer as well as the environment.

Keep going, You got some serious talent!``

¬.¬ this
the framerate was still very low at some parts :( didnt enjoy those