Support NATA 2014

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jun 11, 2012 | 3:44 PM EDT
  • Daily 2nd Place June 13, 2012
  • Weekly 4th Place June 13, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

A cat wakes up surrounded by water and must learn to survive.

My Blog: http://gzilbalodis.tumblr .com/

This has been my passion project for the last year an a half. It started as vague ideas of a cat, ocean and overcoming fear. Then through numerous battles with the script it shaped up to something similar you can see now. After seven drafts I felt that it was ready to start storyboarding, but the film kept evolving all the way until the sound mix was done. I kept learning about filmmaking everyday, going through all of the different processes.
I chose the cat as the main character mainly to save time with exposition, because people know that generally cats are afraid of water. So I could just jump right into action. Plus cat is a fairly small creature and the ocean seems even bigger to him. And of course cats are much easier to draw than humans.
The music is by my friend Bertrams Pauls Purviskis who helped a great deal to tell the story the way it was intended. Music had a lot of to convey in very little time and it came out much better than I could have ever expected.
I have been delaying the release for quite some time, because as I learned by making it, a lot of mistakes made earlier when I did not have the experience had to be remade from scratch. I am glad it is finally done and I can show it to the world.

Software: Photoshop, Toon Boom Animate Pro, After Effects, Logic Pro, Final Cut Pro, Brushes app
Hardware: iMac, Macbook Pro, Wacom Intuos 4, iPod touch
Other: Also made a clay model of the cat and miniatures of the boat and the tree

Reviews


GokuVegetaGogettaGokuVegetaGogetta

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 21, 2012

Woah, that was amazing.

I loved how cute the cat was.

I didn't really see this as a message or anything like that and I've refrained from reading the Author's comments so I can have an opinion of how I felt towards this flash without being told what it all meant, if anything.

Well not much really! Haha, a cat fishing to survive which I thought was pretty cool.

The animation was supreme, now I'm talking like Bitey level, perhaps even more dynamic! Your use of the camera was amazing and personally don't agree with other user's views that it 'moved/shooked too much' but that's just, like, my opinion man.

Music was very fitting and nice to listen to.

I was a little sad that the cat seemed to almost accept that he'd never outrun the water or something. That's the feeling I got when he turned to look at the huge incoming wave.

After reading the Author's comments you've not written about any underlying themes so I guess it's up to the viewer to make of it what they will. That's fine with me.

The animation pretty much forced me to five star this, but that's not to take away from the other aspects of the flash. It was great overall.

Look forward to more of your work, definitely favourited.


gzilbalodis responds:

Yeah, I don't see the point of explaining any themes of the story and even if I tried, it's impossible to describe in a few sentances without sounding sentimental.


unboredtimezunboredtimez

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 17, 2012

That was amazing, love the animation and the art style! The music definitely added to the experience. Truly creative.



TIGIOTIGIO

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 13, 2012

I've already seen the not HD version but it still was amazing!



MefayorMefayor

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 13, 2012

Usually i am sick of these sort of "make you cry" movies but this was excellent - even though at some parts laggy(i know its on purpose with lower framerate ) animation is slightly hurting my eyes.Simply : gzilbalodis and Bertrans Pauls Purviskis you both have a talent,keep it up.

SPOILER!!!:i just want to know - at the end is it supposed to mean that the cat was dreaming and sort of predicting the future or just dream about a big wave incoming to the shore ?


gzilbalodis responds:

I never intended to make it crying movie and don't see it like one myself.

And regarding the ending, it's left for the viewer to decide.


gubthebubgubthebub

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 13, 2012

Pimp, Gangsta, mutha F***a, yeah.

Ridiculously good!