Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jun 11, 2012 | 3:44 PM EDT
  • Daily 2nd Place June 13, 2012
  • Weekly 4th Place June 13, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

A cat wakes up surrounded by water and must learn to survive.

My Blog: http://gzilbalodis.tumblr .com/

This has been my passion project for the last year an a half. It started as vague ideas of a cat, ocean and overcoming fear. Then through numerous battles with the script it shaped up to something similar you can see now. After seven drafts I felt that it was ready to start storyboarding, but the film kept evolving all the way until the sound mix was done. I kept learning about filmmaking everyday, going through all of the different processes.
I chose the cat as the main character mainly to save time with exposition, because people know that generally cats are afraid of water. So I could just jump right into action. Plus cat is a fairly small creature and the ocean seems even bigger to him. And of course cats are much easier to draw than humans.
The music is by my friend Bertrams Pauls Purviskis who helped a great deal to tell the story the way it was intended. Music had a lot of to convey in very little time and it came out much better than I could have ever expected.
I have been delaying the release for quite some time, because as I learned by making it, a lot of mistakes made earlier when I did not have the experience had to be remade from scratch. I am glad it is finally done and I can show it to the world.

Software: Photoshop, Toon Boom Animate Pro, After Effects, Logic Pro, Final Cut Pro, Brushes app
Hardware: iMac, Macbook Pro, Wacom Intuos 4, iPod touch
Other: Also made a clay model of the cat and miniatures of the boat and the tree

Reviews


ImmortalJakeImmortalJake

Rated 4 / 5 stars June 25, 2012

I really liked the artwork, it was a great piece of animation. I only have 2 critiques. My attention was in the piece for the first 5 minutes, then at the 5 minute mark I was snapped out of it with the question of "Where is this going?". Second, at the end of the piece I'm left with the thought of "That was nice, but what was it about? What was the message?". You list in your comments that it is about overcoming fear, but the last few minutes don't leave me with a sense of that being the moral of the story.


People find this review helpful!

DKC1011DKC1011

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 24, 2012

Beautifully classy animation, wonderfully touching story, amazingally complimentary music. I generally loved this short film. bye god, you did a great job.



qwertysamqwertysam

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 24, 2012

I loved it! This obviously took a really long time to make because of the style of animatings, and with all of the crazy, shaky camera views. I also enjoyed the plot, and the fact that it's really long. I enjoy long newgrounds films rather than short ones. The only thing that I didn't like about it was the loading bar. Normally I enjoy the pre-loader rather than the constant loader because it lags a lot less, and it's not as glitchy. This has got to be my favourite animation, and it took a lot of hard work and time, so I think you deserve 5 stars.



BongafishBongafish

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 24, 2012

Very good. Loved everything about it, especially the ending, the subtle hint of the cat accepting and taking on the inevitable.



Philliple123Philliple123

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 24, 2012

Very awesome animation. "Give a man a fish, you will feed him for a day. Teach a man how to fish, you will feed him for a lifetime."