Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jun 11, 2012 | 3:44 PM EDT
  • Daily 2nd Place June 13, 2012
  • Weekly 4th Place June 13, 2012

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

A cat wakes up surrounded by water and must learn to survive.

My Blog: http://gzilbalodis.tumblr.com/

This has been my passion project for the last year an a half. It started as vague ideas of a cat, ocean and overcoming fear. Then through numerous battles with the script it shaped up to something similar you can see now. After seven drafts I felt that it was ready to start storyboarding, but the film kept evolving all the way until the sound mix was done. I kept learning about filmmaking everyday, going through all of the different processes.
I chose the cat as the main character mainly to save time with exposition, because people know that generally cats are afraid of water. So I could just jump right into action. Plus cat is a fairly small creature and the ocean seems even bigger to him. And of course cats are much easier to draw than humans.
The music is by my friend Bertrams Pauls Purviskis who helped a great deal to tell the story the way it was intended. Music had a lot of to convey in very little time and it came out much better than I could have ever expected.
I have been delaying the release for quite some time, because as I learned by making it, a lot of mistakes made earlier when I did not have the experience had to be remade from scratch. I am glad it is finally done and I can show it to the world.

Software: Photoshop, Toon Boom Animate Pro, After Effects, Logic Pro, Final Cut Pro, Brushes app
Hardware: iMac, Macbook Pro, Wacom Intuos 4, iPod touch
Other: Also made a clay model of the cat and miniatures of the boat and the tree

Reviews


SpecialEditionSpecialEdition

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 14, 2012

Awesome.



ScrawnyPaleManScrawnyPaleMan

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 11, 2012

That was so absolutely fantastic.



KroNoSoMeKroNoSoMe

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars July 9, 2012

So much win! First time I watched this I kept smiling stupidly, today it almost made me cry ;_; Like someone posted before it's a nice analogy with life itself: sometimes you're fucked yet you have to deal with it and keep going on, cling to whatever crosses your path (be it drugs, faith, family, art... depends on people). You'll make friends during your journey, they'll be your savior: once they're done helping you by showing the way, it's time to get up on your own feet even if you're back to square one. The worst part is over? an even bigger pile of shit is on its way, brace yourselves WINTER IS COMING!

In any case I really loved this work, the music fits perfectly and cats are so cute! Keep it up!



VoxelVoxel

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 8, 2012

Absolutely Glorious.



KazzakhsKazzakhs

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 7, 2012

One of the best things I've watched on Newgrounds... so perfect!