Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jun 11, 2012 | 3:44 PM EDT
  • Daily 2nd Place June 13, 2012
  • Weekly 4th Place June 13, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

A cat wakes up surrounded by water and must learn to survive.

My Blog: http://gzilbalodis.tumblr.com/

This has been my passion project for the last year an a half. It started as vague ideas of a cat, ocean and overcoming fear. Then through numerous battles with the script it shaped up to something similar you can see now. After seven drafts I felt that it was ready to start storyboarding, but the film kept evolving all the way until the sound mix was done. I kept learning about filmmaking everyday, going through all of the different processes.
I chose the cat as the main character mainly to save time with exposition, because people know that generally cats are afraid of water. So I could just jump right into action. Plus cat is a fairly small creature and the ocean seems even bigger to him. And of course cats are much easier to draw than humans.
The music is by my friend Bertrams Pauls Purviskis who helped a great deal to tell the story the way it was intended. Music had a lot of to convey in very little time and it came out much better than I could have ever expected.
I have been delaying the release for quite some time, because as I learned by making it, a lot of mistakes made earlier when I did not have the experience had to be remade from scratch. I am glad it is finally done and I can show it to the world.

Software: Photoshop, Toon Boom Animate Pro, After Effects, Logic Pro, Final Cut Pro, Brushes app
Hardware: iMac, Macbook Pro, Wacom Intuos 4, iPod touch
Other: Also made a clay model of the cat and miniatures of the boat and the tree

Reviews


mrsciencemrscience

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 15, 2012

beautiful man just plain beautiful
the music the animation the story
definitely a five out of five



hammytechnoidhammytechnoid

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 15, 2012

One of the best I've seen on here. Heart rending and uplifting at the same time. Good job... hope for more like this one.



eestipk56eestipk56

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 15, 2012

A very beautiful animation. i really like the style and illustration's to this. Havent seen anything this unique in a while. Great job.


People find this review helpful!

jay-tjay-t

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 15, 2012

Great art for the back grounds, the style of the characters made me laugh a bit, kinda like a kid drew them. Nice story though, didn't quite understand the end, but it hit me with a ray of emotions and curiousity. Keep it up.


People find this review helpful!
gzilbalodis responds:

I am a kid so that makes sense.


LINKLELINKLE

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 15, 2012

brilliant good graphics and nice i like it