Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jun 11, 2012 | 3:44 PM EDT
  • Daily 2nd Place June 13, 2012
  • Weekly 4th Place June 13, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

A cat wakes up surrounded by water and must learn to survive.

My Blog: http://gzilbalodis.tumblr.com/

This has been my passion project for the last year an a half. It started as vague ideas of a cat, ocean and overcoming fear. Then through numerous battles with the script it shaped up to something similar you can see now. After seven drafts I felt that it was ready to start storyboarding, but the film kept evolving all the way until the sound mix was done. I kept learning about filmmaking everyday, going through all of the different processes.
I chose the cat as the main character mainly to save time with exposition, because people know that generally cats are afraid of water. So I could just jump right into action. Plus cat is a fairly small creature and the ocean seems even bigger to him. And of course cats are much easier to draw than humans.
The music is by my friend Bertrams Pauls Purviskis who helped a great deal to tell the story the way it was intended. Music had a lot of to convey in very little time and it came out much better than I could have ever expected.
I have been delaying the release for quite some time, because as I learned by making it, a lot of mistakes made earlier when I did not have the experience had to be remade from scratch. I am glad it is finally done and I can show it to the world.

Software: Photoshop, Toon Boom Animate Pro, After Effects, Logic Pro, Final Cut Pro, Brushes app
Hardware: iMac, Macbook Pro, Wacom Intuos 4, iPod touch
Other: Also made a clay model of the cat and miniatures of the boat and the tree

Reviews


lbkinglbking

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 15, 2012

(Sniff) this is so fucking touching.


People find this review helpful!

vlarinvlarin

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 15, 2012

This was the best thing I have ever seen in my life. I was crying like the whole time. You are incredibly talented. Even more so. Wow. This is the cat's pajamas.


People find this review helpful!

CrudeDudeCrudeDude

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars June 15, 2012

There were a few times that I didn't like the way that the cat looked but the backgrounds were great and the music really fits the visuals well. I see you put a LOT of work into this and that you're just a kid (as am I) so congrats on finishing and showing this wonderful film to everyone! It's very inspiring to say the least.

What I got out of this film was that one day the waters will rise unexpectedly (difficult times will come along or there is too much stagnation) and you've got to have the courage to leave the tree (current situation) you're holding on to and jump onto a boat (a way out of the situation) before it's too late. Maybe you'll find a new friend while you're finding your way. One day the waters die down and it seems that everything is fine (the hard times seem to be over). Then they come rushing back and you've got to either be prepared or just stop running from the waves and accept it.
It seemed for some reason that the cat was accepting death at the end, noticing that running was pointless, as he would be running forever and that he would probably not survive the impact and turbulence of the waves--or would he?! Yes, life metaphors are always moving. ;)

BTW "Clarity" looks like it will be very good!


People find this review helpful!

losmuertoslagervinerlosmuertoslagerviner

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 15, 2012

this is well thought through. Its touching in a way and can probably inspire someone to make something like this.


People find this review helpful!

stevelovesguitarsstevelovesguitars

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 15, 2012

god damn that's good.
what a big amount of work it must have been.