Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jun 11, 2012 | 3:44 PM EDT
  • Daily 2nd Place June 13, 2012
  • Weekly 4th Place June 13, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

A cat wakes up surrounded by water and must learn to survive.

My Blog: http://gzilbalodis.tumblr.com/

This has been my passion project for the last year an a half. It started as vague ideas of a cat, ocean and overcoming fear. Then through numerous battles with the script it shaped up to something similar you can see now. After seven drafts I felt that it was ready to start storyboarding, but the film kept evolving all the way until the sound mix was done. I kept learning about filmmaking everyday, going through all of the different processes.
I chose the cat as the main character mainly to save time with exposition, because people know that generally cats are afraid of water. So I could just jump right into action. Plus cat is a fairly small creature and the ocean seems even bigger to him. And of course cats are much easier to draw than humans.
The music is by my friend Bertrams Pauls Purviskis who helped a great deal to tell the story the way it was intended. Music had a lot of to convey in very little time and it came out much better than I could have ever expected.
I have been delaying the release for quite some time, because as I learned by making it, a lot of mistakes made earlier when I did not have the experience had to be remade from scratch. I am glad it is finally done and I can show it to the world.

Software: Photoshop, Toon Boom Animate Pro, After Effects, Logic Pro, Final Cut Pro, Brushes app
Hardware: iMac, Macbook Pro, Wacom Intuos 4, iPod touch
Other: Also made a clay model of the cat and miniatures of the boat and the tree

Reviews


ForwardMomentumForwardMomentum

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 21, 2012

Wow. this is truly an incredible animation. the imagery and music tell the story even better thatn words can, while still keeping it simple. the end was depressing (to me, cuz im a softie). 5 stars



cafalingcafaling

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars June 21, 2012

The simplistic drawing, the amazing story, and wonderful music were quite powerful, this is beautiful, and deserve the rating I give you. Please, make more things like this, and keep the animals drawn just the way they are.

5/5

4.5/5

Your friendly (and insane) reviewer, Cafaling



crashbangcrashbang

Rated 4 / 5 stars June 21, 2012

The music is un, believable. I could honestly listen to it all day. And it really made me care about the cat, which is a big bonus. Animation was also great of course.



ishiguroishiguro

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 21, 2012

this....i cant describe how i feel about this in my eyes this is easily worthy of 5 stars kept me gripping my laptop and waiting in anticipation it was sad that he accepted his fate of never out running water but from what i get from it is accepting that he will swim the seas instead of roaming land? anyway its perfect! i love movies like these so keep it up!



heistmadnessheistmadness

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 21, 2012

wow i love this movie dude!