Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jun 3, 2012 | 8:36 AM EDT
  • Daily 2nd Place June 4, 2012
  • Weekly 4th Place June 6, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

Well, here's my submission for the NATA Novice Round! The theme was "The Elephant in the Room." There are no literal elephants here, of course. I went with the metaphor about having a large, overwhelming issue at hand (or something along the lines of that.) As far as the storyline goes, I guess this is sort of a bit of a sequel to Masquerade because it discusses another chapter in life, sort of. It is hopefully less depressing, though. The happy ending was intended from the start.

In terms of the animation style, I experimented a lot with this (probably more than is initially evident.) I did a lot more frame-by-frame than usual, and although it's still pretty shaky, I think it's getting better, so that's nice. I also started using the same sort of very limited colour scheme that I did in my last video for NATA, but I quickly found that using just blues and purples looked visually boring, so I branched out a bit. Each object or character only has two or three shades of a colour, but entire scenes are now more colourful. I also went a little overboard with vignettes and colour effects overtop of the final product, but I think they help make things look less flat and more appealing. Hopefully.

I also did a bunch of little 3D things in this to test out how well it could be integrated. Some things (i.e. backgrounds) fit in better than objects that move in the foreground, but it's still a learning experience.

As far as music goes, as usual, I did all the music. The tracks in this are just bits and pieces of things I'm working on, so I'm not uploading them to the Audio Portal yet, but whenever I work them into standalone songs, I will. Also I got a sweet condenser microphone for my birthday so for my next video I will have no excuse to not do voices.

Anyway, that's all I have to say for now. I need a weeks' break so I don't go mad from exams/finals/my job/life. Good luck to all the other competitors! Can't wait to see your stuff!

Reviews


dd94dd94

Rated 4 / 5 stars June 6, 2012

If everything would be that simple... Still, awesome stuff, I liked it, cheered me up.



NosajtevolNosajtevol

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 6, 2012

AWESOME! Loved the symbolism, excellent craftsmanship with silent storytelling, that is not an easy task and definitely takes practice. Hats off; beautiful message :]



AtheistprophetAtheistprophet

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 6, 2012

You are amazing. I remember watching Masquerade, which left me with a few mixed feelings regarding plot direction, but this time all I could see was pure style. You have found success here today. Please never stop being clever, never stop being poignant, I can't wait for you to show us your next piece!

The combination of the music with the animation is evidence of your efforts. I salute you sir, may nobody hold you back.


People find this review helpful!

KamandrilKamandril

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 6, 2012

Simply Awesome!
Not used to write reviews on NG but this one asked for it!
I'm not an animator but found the concept and the music that slowly takes part on it perfect fiting each other.
Congrats bubby!(Shared at facebook as well)



JBADLEYJBADLEY

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 6, 2012

I've been thinking about this a lot, whether to go with the money and become an engineer, or to go with my love and become a musician. This video definitely tilted me more towards music. I'm starting to think i should just screw money and what society wants me to conform to. That's not what I want. I want what I love.