Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jun 3, 2012 | 8:36 AM EDT
  • Daily 2nd Place June 4, 2012
  • Weekly 4th Place June 6, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

Well, here's my submission for the NATA Novice Round! The theme was "The Elephant in the Room." There are no literal elephants here, of course. I went with the metaphor about having a large, overwhelming issue at hand (or something along the lines of that.) As far as the storyline goes, I guess this is sort of a bit of a sequel to Masquerade because it discusses another chapter in life, sort of. It is hopefully less depressing, though. The happy ending was intended from the start.

In terms of the animation style, I experimented a lot with this (probably more than is initially evident.) I did a lot more frame-by-frame than usual, and although it's still pretty shaky, I think it's getting better, so that's nice. I also started using the same sort of very limited colour scheme that I did in my last video for NATA, but I quickly found that using just blues and purples looked visually boring, so I branched out a bit. Each object or character only has two or three shades of a colour, but entire scenes are now more colourful. I also went a little overboard with vignettes and colour effects overtop of the final product, but I think they help make things look less flat and more appealing. Hopefully.

I also did a bunch of little 3D things in this to test out how well it could be integrated. Some things (i.e. backgrounds) fit in better than objects that move in the foreground, but it's still a learning experience.

As far as music goes, as usual, I did all the music. The tracks in this are just bits and pieces of things I'm working on, so I'm not uploading them to the Audio Portal yet, but whenever I work them into standalone songs, I will. Also I got a sweet condenser microphone for my birthday so for my next video I will have no excuse to not do voices.

Anyway, that's all I have to say for now. I need a weeks' break so I don't go mad from exams/finals/my job/life. Good luck to all the other competitors! Can't wait to see your stuff!

Reviews


UltimatezpiderUltimatezpider

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 23, 2012

Very nice.



josefelipejhjosefelipejh

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 19, 2012

beautyfull



RahkshaRahksha

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 13, 2012

Beautiful. Deserving of First Place, in my opinion. Animation was flawless, despite your "experimentation." Great story. Although the battle between money and happiness is a bit cliche, I think it fits your theme and purpose perfectly.

One more thing that struck me was the train ride. It was very symbolic how you used the hammer and shaped holes to show that the man was being forced to do something that didn't fit him. It was a clever usage of your animation skills, and partially why I believe you deserved first place.

To correct hipparata: he didn't have a wife and kids, or at least none were mentioned. The girl playing the music seemed to be his only "love interest," and dare I say it to be so.


People find this review helpful!

hipparatahipparata

Rated 3 / 5 stars June 13, 2012

I enjoyed the animation, but the story is somewhat lacking. I mean, believe me - I would drop my office work this very second, but in real life you can't just quit and leave your family on the street because you want to be a rockstar. You had a very strong begging, but the ending really disappointed me.



prestigiousPENprestigiousPEN

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 11, 2012

You've just got to do what you love. Wonderful and smooth animation and the message is made me smile. I really like how the music went along with the facial expresions and moods of the main character and I think you potrayed the theme well. good job, and keep it up!