Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
May 25, 2012 | 1:02 AM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice May 30, 2012
  • Daily Feature May 26, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

Hello Newgrounds! I missed you.
I finally have the opportunity to show you LUCKY DAY FOREVER. Completed 2011, premiering at last online NOW, right here on Newgrounds!
Enjoy.

--
"Prole 514 dreams about winning the Great Lottery. The lottery winner is transformed and allowed admission into the elite White society, where everyone is beautiful, young and happy and people spend their carefree lives solely on fun and partying. One day, 514's wish comes true... but was this what he really wanted?"

--
Thanks for all the great feedback and reviews, kind and less kind alike! Yes, I do read them all.

Reviews


corsair7corsair7

Rated 4 / 5 stars July 3, 2012

Well, I'll say this. You had me enthralled for the entire 16 minute presentation. That itself deserves plenty of credit. While the general plot has been done again and again, that isn't any reason to dislike this specific interpretation of it. This was, in fact, a really well done rendition of it. Throw in some mildly overplayed narrative on modern media presentation and we have a fairly original creation! The animation was clear and crisp with near 2 art styles to represent the different societies. But, this doesn't seem like a story about a hedonistic civilization using another society to reach their means. This is the story of the little Prole who dreamed big and always tried his hand at the lottery. There was all of this noise telling him what his deepest desires are and what he is to strive for (again, the lamping of the western media culture). When what he really desired was a little companionship. He seemed a very lonely little guy, talking to nobody and interacting with the bare minimums. This is what seems to be revealed at the end of the dream sequence when he jumps into the ad. She takes off her mask and the veneer of media drips away and things are more what he really wanted, a couple going down to sleep.

At least, that is what I have taken away from it. This is a commentary on the modern western media culture. Devoid of any real character and feeding on those whom it professes to ascend.

This is only a 4 because I decided to be a bit tougher on this flash, since it aspires to be more. And it largely succeeds. By how I usually grade things this would be a 5, no doubt about it.



LeehoLeeho

Rated 4 / 5 stars June 2, 2012

To be perfectly honest, the plot didn't really surprise me. That being said, it was elegantly developped, especially with the ending dream. Your art is excellent, and the overall design was pretty original. I liked the complexity of the slums' background, and those neverending smile were creepy as hell, while capturing some form of sadness.

This is truly amazing work, thanks for this ! And of course, keep it up :) Please ?



theNIPPLELAZERtheNIPPLELAZER

Rated 4 / 5 stars June 9, 2012

That was extremely disturbing



Jesusdragon737Jesusdragon737

Rated 4 / 5 stars October 24, 2012

It was well executed and you definitely got the message across, but you left no room for hope. Maybe you were depressed when you wrote this, I don't know. I'm not saying that every story needs a happy ending, but there was just nothing at all uplifting or edifying about this. Just kinda... "Hey look where we're all headed. It's a piece of crap."

Who knows. Maybe this is what's needed to actually impact people. Maybe if people are left with some hope they won't take the message seriously. Either way, it was powerful.


People find this review helpful!

LouTheRipperLouTheRipper

Rated 4 / 5 stars May 26, 2012

" There is no perfection in life, only illusions"


People find this review helpful!