Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
May 25, 2012 | 1:02 AM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice May 30, 2012
  • Daily Feature May 26, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

Hello Newgrounds! I missed you.
I finally have the opportunity to show you LUCKY DAY FOREVER. Completed 2011, premiering at last online NOW, right here on Newgrounds!
Enjoy.

--
"Prole 514 dreams about winning the Great Lottery. The lottery winner is transformed and allowed admission into the elite White society, where everyone is beautiful, young and happy and people spend their carefree lives solely on fun and partying. One day, 514's wish comes true... but was this what he really wanted?"

--
Thanks for all the great feedback and reviews, kind and less kind alike! Yes, I do read them all.

Reviews


BlackChaos17BlackChaos17

Rated 4 / 5 stars June 14, 2012

I wanted to cry after watching this. Great job man.



SidmastaflexSidmastaflex

Rated 4 / 5 stars May 29, 2012

This was actually a really cool animation and the overall story is pretty cool, too. What confuses me is the fact that there is so much sexual reference. It's under teen but it has bouncing boobs, robot nipples, and various others. Either way it was still great


People find this review helpful!

JottoJotto

Rated 4 / 5 stars June 15, 2012

This old theme has been rehashed so many times, and this time it was even more depressing than it usually is.

On the plus side, this theme often has a difficult time connecting to real life in a realistic way. This video does in some ways. I did feel the pinch of regret as he went out to claim his prize.

Also, I take it that this describes some aspects of the black and white racial disparity. The Author Comments section seems to hint at this by calling it "the elite White society", and the non-winners are black or foreign looking. Blending this in with the Dystopian theme is something I actually haven't seen before, and it's an interesting twist.

And of course the art and sounds were very good, well done on that as well.

Anyway, I'm only going to give it a 4 though. This theme for me gets more and more aggravating every time I see it. I mean the pseudo-utopia dystopian scenario is just so unrealistic. It's popularity is the result of playing on people's paranoia mixed with rebelliousness, which are the real themes at work here. It was a very interesting concept back when The Matrix came out, but I'm not sure I could be more sick of it at this point.

There are some good reasons why this sort of scenario is highly unlikely to occur. So some company or government developed this technology; guess what? All it takes to destroy that company or government in terms of liability is to have a competitor offer the same thing minus the enslavement. Or have such a massive and volatile secret (that potentially any customer could discover and leak) becoming known. And the more elaborate a conspiracy becomes, the more likely it is to fail. Like in The Matrix, there is just no damn good reason why you'd COMPLETELY enslave people alongside letting them use this technology. As far as business decisions go, that would be one of the most idiotic ideas imaginable, an insta-bankruptcy bomb waiting to happen.

"Hey Boss, how about instead of keeping them coming back to us from their lousy real lives like addicts while we rake in the profits, how about we just enslave them outright and hope no one finds out?"

"Great idea! You get a promotion".

...I'm sorry, this is turning into a rant again the theme rather than the video. Anyway, definitely worth watching and clearly well done, just in a theme that I have long since stopped caring for.



RicketyRailsRicketyRails

Rated 4 / 5 stars May 29, 2012

I'm a little conflicted with the way I feel about this short. It was well thought out, and the quality is great, but I end up feeling as though it's aimed at dark skinned people. What was your reasoning that you used dark skinned people as the subjugated as opposed to using a mixture of different colors?

Great work though. Hope to see more.

Oh, and was that woman based on anyone in rea life?



Zidane3000Zidane3000

Rated 4 / 5 stars June 1, 2012

the animation,music all that was great but people calling this art ? give me a break
the story was shit people saying the concept for this video is deep and they were deeply touched by it and all that gay bs seriously ?

people even finding their own meanings behind it.
no one is telling you to look up to certain celebrities or singers or whatever
no one is forcing you to glamorize the rich and famous and live every day wishing you were better then an average joe. i get the point of the video but the way the story was told is extremely gay and yes today's society is materialistic so what ? got complaints go live in a shithole like africa
still giving it a 4 for animation but the story is complete gay bullshit