Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
May 25, 2012 | 1:02 AM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice May 30, 2012
  • Daily Feature May 26, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

Hello Newgrounds! I missed you.
I finally have the opportunity to show you LUCKY DAY FOREVER. Completed 2011, premiering at last online NOW, right here on Newgrounds!
Enjoy.

--
"Prole 514 dreams about winning the Great Lottery. The lottery winner is transformed and allowed admission into the elite White society, where everyone is beautiful, young and happy and people spend their carefree lives solely on fun and partying. One day, 514's wish comes true... but was this what he really wanted?"

--
Thanks for all the great feedback and reviews, kind and less kind alike! Yes, I do read them all.

Reviews


GigaSpiritRoleGigaSpiritRole

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 18, 2012

Great movie XD! And the music is so beautiful it's ridiculous lol.
The feeling i get while watching this from watching this is one I can't describe, like
I've just been enlightened, like someone hipped me to how overrated fame and fortune
is. The only problem I have is, where is the music? I need every track on this movie.
Someone please tell me where I can get all the tracks, even if they have to be bought.



SandileSandile

Rated 4 / 5 stars July 18, 2012

This was amazing. Though the beginning felt a bit slow and had nothing to propell me to continue watching.



CrotchStainCrotchStain

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 18, 2012

Damn. This piece is incredibly well done. However, that review by lolgay3 makes me rather peeved. So I wrote to him.

"Welp, another one of these "get you down" movies that tell you nothing that you didn't already know.
From what I can tell, this flash is the bastard offspring of The Matrix and the Communist Manifesto. According to LUCKY DAY FOREVER, we live in a world where we are constantly distracted by the mass media telling us that we can become rich if we buy the lottery tickets.
I don't know what channel Prole 514 is watching. The TV channels I watch tells me everyday that the vast majority of Americans are obese (I am not), that we are getting dumber every generation (this might be true), and that we are losing our economic edge (this is true). The media also tells us that if we work harder and smarter, we can become rich, too. The "rags to riches" stories you constantly see on TV inevitably involve one guy WORKING RIDICULOUSLY HARD to become a billionnaire. How did Bill Gates become a billionnaire? During Microsoft's early years, all employees had broad responsibility for the company's business. Gates oversaw the business details, but continued to write code as well. In the first five years, Gates personally reviewed every line of code the company shipped, and often rewrote parts of it as he saw fit.
Economics 101: The more you produce, the more you get paid. Welcome to capitalism! Wondering why China and India are the rising economic powers? Simple: Because they produce more. Ah, the wonders of economics.
I might also mention that the TV channel depicted in the flash is boring as hell. The main character must be retarded if he likes watching the exact same adverts over and over again, every day. Actually it might be classified as some kind of porno or fantasy addiction.
Summary:
In the grim dystopia of the future, poor people are put into giant vats and their flesh is sucked off to make rich people more attractive. The lottery channel is the only TV channel available. All poor people work as cleaners and enjoy staring at the same flashing advert day after day.
Communist polemic at its finest."

"Dear Mr. lolgay3,

Regarding your review of lucky day forever, I wanted to say a few things:

Firstly, if you are trolling, good job. If not, I want to help clarify a few points that you seemed to have missed about the piece. This piece uses a great number of metaphor. You are regarding a few of the aspects to literally, i.e. the channel the protagonist was watching.
Secondly, your understanding of capitalism is somewhat correct, but not complete. Capitalism excels when there are people to sell to, or in other terms, people to get money from. China's economy didn't boom because it produced more, but because it sold more. It also makes more from what it sells because it treated and payed it's workers very poorly, cuting out as many production costs as possible.
Thirdly, any "rags to riches" story is based entirely on either a one-in-a-million shot (the lottery) or, in instances like Bill Gates, they were able to lead a market of a new and critical invention or industry. Bill Gates and Microsoft were such a big deal because of the nature of the computer market at the time. A ridiculous amount of work was done on his part, but he also treated many of his employees very poorly in order to get the work out of them that he needed.

To summarize:
1.) Don't be too literal.
2.) Understand the bigger economic picture.
3.) Hard work is necessary for success, but so is taking advantage of the current economy.

If you read all of the way though this, I would like to thank you, as I appreciate that courtesy.

Sincerely,
Tim."

I felt that this piece did a wonderful job of using visual metaphors to give a clearer understanding of the schism that captialism creates. This kind of piece would be viewed as extreme, leading to responses like Mr. lolgay3's, due to a lack of understanding of the many aspects of capitalism that aren't ever tought in schools. I don's like communism, but capt. isn't working. I ran out of space so thank you. :)


People find this review helpful!

cuhreedahcuhreedah

Rated 4 / 5 stars July 16, 2012

Reminded me of Aldous Huxley's books and Brave New World type of stuff


People find this review helpful!

lolgay3lolgay3

Rated 0 / 5 stars July 16, 2012

Welp, another one of these "get you down" movies that tell you nothing that you didn't already know.

From what I can tell, this flash is the bastard offspring of The Matrix and the Communist Manifesto. According to LUCKY DAY FOREVER, we live in a world where we are constantly distracted by the mass media telling us that we can become rich if we buy the lottery tickets.

I don't know what channel Prole 514 is watching. The TV channels I watch tells me everyday that the vast majority of Americans are obese (I am not), that we are getting dumber every generation (this might be true), and that we are losing our economic edge (this is true). The media also tells us that if we work harder and smarter, we can become rich, too. The "rags to riches" stories you constantly see on TV inevitably involve one guy WORKING RIDICULOUSLY HARD to become a billionnaire. How did Bill Gates become a billionnaire? During Microsoft's early years, all employees had broad responsibility for the company's business. Gates oversaw the business details, but continued to write code as well. In the first five years, Gates personally reviewed every line of code the company shipped, and often rewrote parts of it as he saw fit.

Economics 101: The more you produce, the more you get paid. Welcome to capitalism! Wondering why China and India are the rising economic powers? Simple: Because they produce more. Ah, the wonders of economics.

I might also mention that the TV channel depicted in the flash is boring as hell. The main character must be retarded if he likes watching the exact same adverts over and over again, every day. Actually it might be classified as some kind of porno or fantasy addiction.

Summary:

In the grim dystopia of the future, poor people are put into giant vats and their flesh is sucked off to make rich people more attractive. The lottery channel is the only TV channel available. All poor people work as cleaners and enjoy staring at the same flashing advert day after day.

Communist polemic at its finest.