Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
May 25, 2012 | 1:02 AM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice May 30, 2012
  • Daily Feature May 26, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

Hello Newgrounds! I missed you.
I finally have the opportunity to show you LUCKY DAY FOREVER. Completed 2011, premiering at last online NOW, right here on Newgrounds!
Enjoy.

--
"Prole 514 dreams about winning the Great Lottery. The lottery winner is transformed and allowed admission into the elite White society, where everyone is beautiful, young and happy and people spend their carefree lives solely on fun and partying. One day, 514's wish comes true... but was this what he really wanted?"

--
Thanks for all the great feedback and reviews, kind and less kind alike! Yes, I do read them all.

Reviews


lolgay3lolgay3

Rated 0 / 5 stars July 16, 2012

Welp, another one of these "get you down" movies that tell you nothing that you didn't already know.

From what I can tell, this flash is the bastard offspring of The Matrix and the Communist Manifesto. According to LUCKY DAY FOREVER, we live in a world where we are constantly distracted by the mass media telling us that we can become rich if we buy the lottery tickets.

I don't know what channel Prole 514 is watching. The TV channels I watch tells me everyday that the vast majority of Americans are obese (I am not), that we are getting dumber every generation (this might be true), and that we are losing our economic edge (this is true). The media also tells us that if we work harder and smarter, we can become rich, too. The "rags to riches" stories you constantly see on TV inevitably involve one guy WORKING RIDICULOUSLY HARD to become a billionnaire. How did Bill Gates become a billionnaire? During Microsoft's early years, all employees had broad responsibility for the company's business. Gates oversaw the business details, but continued to write code as well. In the first five years, Gates personally reviewed every line of code the company shipped, and often rewrote parts of it as he saw fit.

Economics 101: The more you produce, the more you get paid. Welcome to capitalism! Wondering why China and India are the rising economic powers? Simple: Because they produce more. Ah, the wonders of economics.

I might also mention that the TV channel depicted in the flash is boring as hell. The main character must be retarded if he likes watching the exact same adverts over and over again, every day. Actually it might be classified as some kind of porno or fantasy addiction.

Summary:

In the grim dystopia of the future, poor people are put into giant vats and their flesh is sucked off to make rich people more attractive. The lottery channel is the only TV channel available. All poor people work as cleaners and enjoy staring at the same flashing advert day after day.

Communist polemic at its finest.



Yakul85Yakul85

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 16, 2012

This video speaks of how much of society has become a parasite feeding off those who dream of a brighter future for themselves. The music and story are wonderful and it will grip your interest, mind and heart towards the middle when they introduce the second character and show her story.


People find this review helpful!

Pierce-BrosnanPierce-Brosnan

Rated 4 / 5 stars July 14, 2012

The script needed some revision and dragged a bit for the first half, but overall an interesting short with good production values. I'd like to see more stuff like this online.



PauloNGfollowerPauloNGfollower

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 14, 2012

It was just beautiful. It shows the true face of how many society's have turned into .

Amazing!



caramelphoenixcaramelphoenix

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 14, 2012

Real art provokes emotions and sparks the thought process.
The hard work put into this animation makes it more than just an animation. Even though the animation was clean and very nicely detailed, I think the message pushed this over the edge. Very creative, and the music was perfect.


People find this review helpful!