Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
May 25, 2012 | 1:02 AM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice May 30, 2012
  • Daily Feature May 26, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

Hello Newgrounds! I missed you.
I finally have the opportunity to show you LUCKY DAY FOREVER. Completed 2011, premiering at last online NOW, right here on Newgrounds!
Enjoy.

--
"Prole 514 dreams about winning the Great Lottery. The lottery winner is transformed and allowed admission into the elite White society, where everyone is beautiful, young and happy and people spend their carefree lives solely on fun and partying. One day, 514's wish comes true... but was this what he really wanted?"

--
Thanks for all the great feedback and reviews, kind and less kind alike! Yes, I do read them all.

Reviews


KikoshouKikoshou

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars July 23, 2012

A gorgeous piece of science fiction, "LUCKY DAY FOREVER" is easily one of the best things I've seen featured on Newgrounds in a long time. With beautiful artwork, smooth animation and a surprisingly well developed setting for it's short run time this flash animation offered up a great experience.

The only nitpick I have is related to the plot so spoilers warning in advance. At first I thought the entire piece was taking a dark look into the separation between the famous and the average. The way the main character transforms and instantly becomes another bloated celebrity ego talking how he was "born" to greatness reflects how powerful the effects of sudden fame and wealth can have on people, and how easy it is to lose yourself to it. Everything from the ads to the TV blaring in his apartment idolizes the luxurious but empty existence these "winners" live compared to the struggling but very real existence of the average people we see. The problem is the sudden ending which turns the whole thing into a dystopian conspiracy piece that not only seems to go against all of the initial imagery, but creates more than a few plotholes. Why did he wake up and was able to escape? What are the "white people" if they aren't the reborn winners of the lottery? I guess it kind of works if this is just a political commentary on the idea of the rich feeding off of the poor while deceiving them with the idea of the American dream, but that message seems a lot more forced if that's what you were trying to say.


People find this review helpful!

TichlodorusTichlodorus

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 22, 2012

Amazing....a whole world, a story, Its such a masterpiece, very dark, but a masterpiece still. worth well more than 5 stars



CaptinepoptartslolCaptinepoptartslol

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 20, 2012

I had a hunch this was made by the same guy who made Smile. This is a really good vid nice work Sarkazm.



KelpTheGreatKelpTheGreat

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 20, 2012

This is incredible. The art, animation, and sound are all perfect, and the plot is unique and interesting. It is a scary story of a dystopia, that provokes some very deep thoughts. The music is incredible in particular, I love it.

I do have a huge complaint though - the rating. Be warned, by no one's standards should this be rated T. It deserves a solid M. There are plenty of f-bombs, male and female nudity, disturbing images, overt sexual references, domestic violence and more. If the author reads this, I do hope he raises the rating.


People find this review helpful!

JaMyungGoJaMyungGo

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 20, 2012

I love your style of drawing. You are a very good animator. <3