Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
May 25, 2012 | 1:02 AM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice May 30, 2012
  • Daily Feature May 26, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

Hello Newgrounds! I missed you.
I finally have the opportunity to show you LUCKY DAY FOREVER. Completed 2011, premiering at last online NOW, right here on Newgrounds!
Enjoy.

--
"Prole 514 dreams about winning the Great Lottery. The lottery winner is transformed and allowed admission into the elite White society, where everyone is beautiful, young and happy and people spend their carefree lives solely on fun and partying. One day, 514's wish comes true... but was this what he really wanted?"

--
Thanks for all the great feedback and reviews, kind and less kind alike! Yes, I do read them all.

Reviews


UndeadprinmanUndeadprinman

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 9, 2014

I absolutely love this animation. today i saw it for the first time and i cannot believe that someone so talented and intelligent created something so beutiful. The story is addictive, the animation itself is crafted around the story, the message is not simply the point or purpose of the animation it is the animation in all forms and meaning. This is something to be treasured and acknowledged as being of credit to high art. This is something that i haven't seen the likes of for years, it is a rarity of human existence and creation. I know the rating system only goes to five but for something like this the highest rating possible is still an insult to the beauty i have just witnessed. Perfection has something gunning for it.



charizardrojocharizardrojo

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 7, 2014

No matter how many time passes, I still get the thrills of this story. It's one of best stories here on newgrounds... and the internet on general. The morale of the story is magical.
in short terms it's something that must be watched by everyone.



bowseraxxbowseraxx

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 7, 2014

Powerfull story! Great animation, I really enjoyed it. Delivered message is massive. Hope newgrounds could show users more of that amazing short art movie.



nindeonindeo

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars June 6, 2014

In my time on Newgrounds I've seem few shorts uploaded that are this power visually and rich in social commentary. Overall this short is impressive on all fronts, including great music and sound effects paired with rich visuals, LUCKY DAY FOREVER is well deserving of the Weekly Users's Choice and Daily Feature awards.



clockincomicsclockincomics

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 6, 2014

I love this. I remember seeing this back when it was given the Daily Feature and just loving it, then I spent the next two years searching for it, I'm so glad I finally found it again. This is a work of art. I can't believe how well this encapsulates so many emotions, preconceptions, and false realities. This is something we should show at film conventions.

There is only one thing I would like to address as someone who has seen this a few times, and that would be the racial things people seem to be talking about in the comments. See, I completely understand how it represents racism in so many ways, but to me, this feels like it is a bit deeper than racism. While I see it very easily could have been the author's intent to show it an allegory for racism, (note: I have not searched though-out the entire comment section, so he may have addressed this) I believe this is idealism vs realism more than anything. Seeing yourself as something small, insignificant, ugly, flawed, silent in a world full of noise; while celebrities almost seem like shining walls of alabaster or sculptures without flaws, portrayed to be perfect in every way, when in reality, they are but shells and husks of humans, more flawed than everyone else. I see it as what people view themselves as, as well as what famous people are made out to be. A deifying system if you will.

Now I may be wrong, and if I am, I can see why I am, but to me, this feels much more than just simply "white is best and nothing else is anywhere close." But still, 5/5, 10/10, 100/100.


People find this review helpful!