Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
May 25, 2012 | 1:02 AM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice May 30, 2012
  • Daily Feature May 26, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

Hello Newgrounds! I missed you.
I finally have the opportunity to show you LUCKY DAY FOREVER. Completed 2011, premiering at last online NOW, right here on Newgrounds!
Enjoy.

--
"Prole 514 dreams about winning the Great Lottery. The lottery winner is transformed and allowed admission into the elite White society, where everyone is beautiful, young and happy and people spend their carefree lives solely on fun and partying. One day, 514's wish comes true... but was this what he really wanted?"

--
Thanks for all the great feedback and reviews, kind and less kind alike! Yes, I do read them all.

Reviews


GieterrrGieterrr

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 25, 2012

An absolute masterpiece. Never have I seen a story so pure, you have a lot of guts for making this, and I appaud you greatly. I just have no words to describe this beauty.


People find this review helpful!

L2TheML2TheM

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 25, 2012

The song near the end is from Ed Harrison and is called Footprint. It's on Amazon.com, so go buy it. It really is amazing.

As for the animation, words can't describe how moving it is. This is just surreal. This may have been the most amazing thing I have ever seen in my entire life. I don't have enough stars to do this justice.


People find this review helpful!

warezwarez

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 25, 2012

Amazing!

OT: Anyone knows the name of the song playing when he run from the tank?



VertVert

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 25, 2012

... utterly exceptional. Brilliant. About as subtle as a sledgehammer, but that's the point, it's a brutal social commentary on modern society and it's a sight to see. It's one of those rare pieces of art (and I don't use the term lightly) where I can provide no meaningful criticisms, which is a shame, since mindless praise is, well, mindless and doesn't help an artist to grow; the problem is, virtually every single aspect is individually excellent and the combination of the whole is even better. So let me discuss each individual aspect:

- Animation was of very, very, very quality. As in 'cinema movie quality', so I can't really add anything to that. The overall look and design style you use was great, I loved the faded, muted colours outside the 'elite city' and stark contrast it provided with the glowing, white 'elite city' itself. The character design was also spot-on, you follow through with overall thematic here and it works really well.

Also, backgrounds were exceptionally detailed, more so, I think, than some professional movies. So, simply put, the overall art and animation was that of something you'd see on the big screen (and if I'm saying this over and over it's because that is such a remarkable accomplishment in in itself) and if this is your calling card to the industry, then it could not be better made and it's a showcase for the talent of you and all the artists involved in creating it.

- Music was really good and used well. Again, the contrasting themes between 'elites' and 'proles' is heavily reinforced by the choice of songs and it works; same goes for the TV music. Really, really good stuff. Sound effects are somewhat sparse, but well used and punctuated things (i.e., not using it at some points are a very logical choice). Top notch again.

- Voice acting. Wow. Just wow. Sardonic Samurai has done some of his best work, his narration as Mr TV is exceptional, a stand-out among so many exceptional things, and the choice of English as 'elite' with Polish for 'proles', once again, is heavy-handed and absolutely spot-on. Can't comment too much on the Polish voice actors, but to me, they sounded just right too.

- Story is very, very good. This is a logical extension / revisit of the themes you've explored in the past and although it's a simple story, it's very well told. The flow and pacing of the movie is excellent, you interlace moments of lull in the more action sequences and you do that, at the risk of sounding repetitive, very well.

I also love the way you create a hint of different path for the story at different moments, by playing with our expectations (and by some clever use of tropes) and making it seem that things could just about to go another way; that's a sign of some very good storytelling.

The story itself is, of course, massively heavy handed (as I've mentioned before), but I wouldn't have it any other way. As in the past, you know how to cross the limits in effective way to transmit a message that I largely, but not quite completely, agree with, but which should be said anyway. It reminds me of a recent work called Black Mirror, by Charlie Brooker, which you might want to take a look.

So, what else is left to say after all that? I really can't think of much else. Let me put it like this: I've rarely been happier of having seen an animator evolve before, as I was here on Newgrounds when Smile and Polsupah first came out and even then I was hoping of great things from you. You've surpassed such expectations I had, by a so very, very much.

My heartfelt thanks to you and EVERYONE involved in this project, it's a astonishing and so polished and I can only hope the brilliance of it can shine and it gets the kudos and recognition it richly deserves.

I salute you for it.


Lots of people find this review helpful!

420purplecat420purplecat

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 25, 2012

Bravo, and the use of sexuallity as a driving force was well done. This was an excellent look at modren society!


People find this review helpful!