Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
May 25, 2012 | 1:02 AM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice May 30, 2012
  • Daily Feature May 26, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

Hello Newgrounds! I missed you.
I finally have the opportunity to show you LUCKY DAY FOREVER. Completed 2011, premiering at last online NOW, right here on Newgrounds!
Enjoy.

--
"Prole 514 dreams about winning the Great Lottery. The lottery winner is transformed and allowed admission into the elite White society, where everyone is beautiful, young and happy and people spend their carefree lives solely on fun and partying. One day, 514's wish comes true... but was this what he really wanted?"

--
Thanks for all the great feedback and reviews, kind and less kind alike! Yes, I do read them all.

Reviews


OrphOrph

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 26, 2012

This was absolutely brilliant, easily the best flash of 2012! Unfortunatley I can give it only 5 stars...It deserves at least 10



TerminalMontageTerminalMontage

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 26, 2012

That was brilliant, not only was it well done but it was done well enough to make me think about life. Reminded me of Idiocracy, but better.


People find this review helpful!

NewShapeNewShape

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars May 26, 2012

Okay.

It's good, now I've got that over with I will go in more depth about it.

Firstly it's the age old idea explored in âEU~The Time MachineâEUTM, of humanity splitting in half and one section being subservient to the other. It was covered more thoroughly in the 1927 film metropolis.
So here is the nitty gritty part. I know you spent years on this, I saw your original blog from 2006, you either started work on it either before or directly after Hanged man's elegy. In that time there have been large changes to how humans operate. Now all art and literature is naught more than crude working class jokes about sex and murder. The growth and merging of the classes has made most higher art such as opera and theatre virtually extinct and as newer technologies grow more and more intellect will be lost.
What your animation has over the earlier texts that I mentioned, is that it is relatively contemporary. However in 2011 a drama aired called âEUoeBlack MirrorâEU one plot featured within it, included a dystopia based upon proles, working towards winning a ticket to get on American Idol. Afterwards the winner becomes a porn star and the proles are forced to watch them perform. Sound familiar?
The tragedy behind this animation is that the theme had been fully explored before it had finished being keyed. For me Hanged Man's Elegy will always remain the most astounding animation on this site, and if it takes you as long to make another movie as it did this, then it will for some time yet.
This flash honestly feels like an episode of Twilight Zone, all the way to creepy twist at the end, than an animated piece of art. ItâEUTMs actually quite camp when the bots are inflating the breasts and replacing faces.
I know you love dystopian fiction, but the whole âEU~SmileâEUTM idea is getting routine. You would be seen as a harmless eccentric if you werenâEUTMt so fucking talented.
Now I have been typing for an age here, so I hope I got the message across that I want to see more art from you, ie: the one thing the state doesnâEUTMt want you to do.


People find this review helpful!
Sarkazm responds:

Agreed, some of the stuff dated as years passed with the project stuck in development. I made changes in the script but not everyhting could be updated/replaced without harming the integrity of the film. Some observations did get left behind for future projects. On my defence, the humanity divison in LDF is not really about high culture and low - in a way they're both jokes about sex and murder :)
LDF was originally released in 2011. My guess is it was out before the "Black Mirror" thing (which I only heard about just now from your reviews), which doesn't change the fact it's still hardly the first work to touch the subject - since at least 1895, as you said. Still I hope you found something new in LDF.


JJ86JJ86

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars May 26, 2012

Hey I would love to watch this but.... this new(er) version of the movie player doesn't seem to want to work correclty for me. Please help..

form confused.



lania87lania87

Rated 3 / 5 stars May 26, 2012

Wish I could see it, but you only put it on newgrounds, where this specific video player has SERIOUS problems when I try to watch it. it gets very digitally and hard to see. could you put it on youtube or help me fix it? If I could see it, I'll increase the review to five stars.