Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
May 25, 2012 | 1:02 AM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice May 30, 2012
  • Daily Feature May 26, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

Hello Newgrounds! I missed you.
I finally have the opportunity to show you LUCKY DAY FOREVER. Completed 2011, premiering at last online NOW, right here on Newgrounds!
Enjoy.

--
"Prole 514 dreams about winning the Great Lottery. The lottery winner is transformed and allowed admission into the elite White society, where everyone is beautiful, young and happy and people spend their carefree lives solely on fun and partying. One day, 514's wish comes true... but was this what he really wanted?"

--
Thanks for all the great feedback and reviews, kind and less kind alike! Yes, I do read them all.

Reviews


green42hikegreen42hike

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 28, 2012

Im not gonna write an essay like these's try hards, are they takign a class that had them respond to this or what? damn. I though it was amazing, so good that i watched the whole thing when i only had a minute to spare, anyway dang! some interesting perspectives.


People find this review helpful!

gummy161gummy161

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 28, 2012

Simply amazing ^_^



LesijLesij

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars May 28, 2012

On the one hand - the film is moving and highlights some truths. Not only does it show the tendencies present in our world, but also it might just kind of 'foresee' the future. Sexuality is getting more and more frivolous, advertisements are now simply everywhere (even on newgrounds, d'uh), so called 'fashion' more and more resembles uniforms, swearing is common and became a part of everyday language and- last but no least- more and more people find democracy bad. They actually want a class division. The only thing to add is the dream of immortality and everlasting youth which have been with human race for all the eternity... Those tendencies shown above, more or less, have also been our commrades since the dawn of our existence. The movie shows how insticnts rip the culture to shreds and support technology in helping people be more and more animalistic, but it also shows how dependant they become on thechnology then. The white society goes back to primal instincts and become alpha sub-species. But at what cost? Summing up this part - something all thinking people have been hunting about, but sometimes couldn't find words and cluster those thoughts in the way author did. This picture expressed their intuitions in coherent yet beatiful form.
You can also try to find political contexts in this film (namely ACTA, SOPA-PIPA) and so on and so forth. I think you can try to interprete it in a thousand different ways or more, what also shows greatness of this short form.
BUT on the other hand - author uses stale and unoriginal motives known from movies like 'Matrix' and other future-oriented films. That is kind of... kehem... Shameless rip-off (I didn't say it :P). I know almost everything have been said these days and it reffers to the formal issues as well, but at least, author could have tried to do in a less obvious manner.
Still, either way, this movie is great and gives some of your thoughts and intuitions a good order. To sum up: beutiful, touching, emotional and CATHARCTIC (all movies should be like this), but also stale in formal manner.


People find this review helpful!

StarWarderStarWarder

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 28, 2012

First of all the the people downrating this film because of the "T" rating...

Are you fucking kidding me? Maybe you should go back and watch it again because you clearly didn't get the message the first time. It uses the same style of reflecting current society in a futuristic one as Orwell did, except in 1984 he was holding up the mirror to communism. Here, the author was reflecting capitalism, reflecting the world we live in now. My point is that what he shows in this film is exactly what teens see today on tv, in advertising, in movies and the like but Sarkazm is at least far more tasteful in his goals and serious creative merit. If you're offended by the guy's penis, then you must not go in to art museums much, in which case I feel extremely sorry for you. I hope you don't end up raising your family completely devoid of art until your kids are 18.

More importantly, this is one of the best animations on NG. The movement itself could have been better and smoother but all the static things and the environment were masterfully drawn, beautiful even. I really got the sense between the grungy slums and the sterile, fake city. The voice acting was good but I could hear artifacts in the recordings and I think the voice volume levels were not balanced throughout the movie. The recording equipment wasn't doing it justice.

The story, man I can't even go into it because there is so much to take from this movie about society, advertising, culture, the future of mankind, the metaphors- it's all fucking amazing. I hope to see more videos like this from you. Cheers


People find this review helpful!

chrispinchrispin

Rated 1 / 5 stars May 28, 2012

The animation was great and the voice acting was pretty good too. I didn't like how unrealistic the characters were. They didn't question the "Great Dream" at all. I guess I just have a distaste for shallow characters like that, but that's not why I'm giving this one star. This was labelled as T for teen. Yeah right... It's false advertising and inconsiderate. It's a matter of principle for me to give this a low rating.