Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
May 25, 2012 | 1:02 AM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice May 30, 2012
  • Daily Feature May 26, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

Hello Newgrounds! I missed you.
I finally have the opportunity to show you LUCKY DAY FOREVER. Completed 2011, premiering at last online NOW, right here on Newgrounds!
Enjoy.

--
"Prole 514 dreams about winning the Great Lottery. The lottery winner is transformed and allowed admission into the elite White society, where everyone is beautiful, young and happy and people spend their carefree lives solely on fun and partying. One day, 514's wish comes true... but was this what he really wanted?"

--
Thanks for all the great feedback and reviews, kind and less kind alike! Yes, I do read them all.

Reviews


Darka515Darka515

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars June 15, 2012

it makes me think of george Orwell...


People find this review helpful!

JottoJotto

Rated 4 / 5 stars June 15, 2012

This old theme has been rehashed so many times, and this time it was even more depressing than it usually is.

On the plus side, this theme often has a difficult time connecting to real life in a realistic way. This video does in some ways. I did feel the pinch of regret as he went out to claim his prize.

Also, I take it that this describes some aspects of the black and white racial disparity. The Author Comments section seems to hint at this by calling it "the elite White society", and the non-winners are black or foreign looking. Blending this in with the Dystopian theme is something I actually haven't seen before, and it's an interesting twist.

And of course the art and sounds were very good, well done on that as well.

Anyway, I'm only going to give it a 4 though. This theme for me gets more and more aggravating every time I see it. I mean the pseudo-utopia dystopian scenario is just so unrealistic. It's popularity is the result of playing on people's paranoia mixed with rebelliousness, which are the real themes at work here. It was a very interesting concept back when The Matrix came out, but I'm not sure I could be more sick of it at this point.

There are some good reasons why this sort of scenario is highly unlikely to occur. So some company or government developed this technology; guess what? All it takes to destroy that company or government in terms of liability is to have a competitor offer the same thing minus the enslavement. Or have such a massive and volatile secret (that potentially any customer could discover and leak) becoming known. And the more elaborate a conspiracy becomes, the more likely it is to fail. Like in The Matrix, there is just no damn good reason why you'd COMPLETELY enslave people alongside letting them use this technology. As far as business decisions go, that would be one of the most idiotic ideas imaginable, an insta-bankruptcy bomb waiting to happen.

"Hey Boss, how about instead of keeping them coming back to us from their lousy real lives like addicts while we rake in the profits, how about we just enslave them outright and hope no one finds out?"

"Great idea! You get a promotion".

...I'm sorry, this is turning into a rant again the theme rather than the video. Anyway, definitely worth watching and clearly well done, just in a theme that I have long since stopped caring for.



EpicKrunchEpicKrunch

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 15, 2012

Perfect Movie best one I've ever seen in 2 months


People find this review helpful!

Cienfuegos2Cienfuegos2

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 15, 2012

Great animation, really touching and deep. You should earn an award.
For the guy with the anti-Brazil comment below, I want to say to you that you're lame, and your hate is just a reflection of the shitty life you take. But good luck though.



bloodstripebloodstripe

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 15, 2012

Absolutely perfect, in every way possible. Great job, it was well worth the wait!