Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
May 24, 2012 | 12:08 PM EDT
  • Daily Feature May 25, 2012
  • Weekly 2nd Place May 30, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

My second film made at Calarts. Music by MIchael Paul Kennedy ( http://www.mkennedymusic.
com/ )
Thanks for watching!
Jacob Streilein
http://jcstryline.blogspo t.com
j.stryline@gmail.com

Reviews


ObsessiveSketchObsessiveSketch

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 1, 2012

I read the description, and as soon as I saw "Calarts" I was like "well....fuck." I'm studying animation as well, but your reputation as Disney's feeder school is well deserved. I'm gonna watch the animation now, and give you a legitimate review with some critiques if I can find any.

(after viewing)
fffffFUCK. You guys are good!
I loved the paint-like style you picked, all solid and sometimes blotchy, and the warm (almost blazing) color palette conveyed the environment very well. The lineless forms you used (the stylization) was wonderfully handled. The contrast of focus you used really accentuated the style and helped the characters "pop" from the background, even though there was little palette variation. The lighting effects were great, especially when the big guy stands up and when his face bursts into flame.
The ONLY nit pick I have is that it took a second viewing to realize the big guy had probably stolen his empty water container from the body in his hands; originally, I thought it was his traveling companion, and he had just watched the larger protagonist drain the last hope of reviving his compatriot. Clarity is everything in animation, but I think it's fine, considering most of the error was in the audience (myself)

Overall, a fantastic short film with an imaginative story that takes place in an original setting. Well done! 5/5


People find this review helpful!

GeoWrenGeoWren

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 29, 2012

That was awesome! Great style, simple.


People find this review helpful!

Redskull87Redskull87

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 5, 2012

Pretty intense short, with a good use of the red, yellow, orange, and white colors. With a pretty god design of character, and good music/escene sync, with no much to see, but pretty well managed in the scenes.

Good work 5/5


People find this review helpful!

TheMegaClockTheMegaClock

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 8, 2012

To Sincerialistic: Yeah! A DEAD PARTNER



IstvanOrosiIstvanOrosi

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 20, 2012

Beautiful! I could look at each frame and appreciate it :)


People find this review helpful!