Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
May 24, 2012 | 12:08 PM EDT
  • Daily Feature May 25, 2012
  • Weekly 2nd Place May 30, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

My second film made at Calarts. Music by MIchael Paul Kennedy ( http://www.mkennedymusic.
com/ )
Thanks for watching!
Jacob Streilein
http://jcstryline.blogspo t.com
j.stryline@gmail.com

Reviews


Muzz-XandreMuzz-Xandre

Rated 4 / 5 stars May 30, 2012

Not a long epic but a short peice. Not much story; It's 'end-of-the-world-hot' (Nuclear fallout? Alternate earth? Global warming?), water is scarce and seems to throw people into anarchy - making decent folk struggle. Theres a fight; and then the end of the short. So that's a pretty basic story; but not a bad one. Less is more.
I rate the art above everything else. I like the use of digital art here. The lighting effects are ambient and the attention to little details are refreshing. Sound is really good.

The missing 1.0 was just the mood of the story. It was nothing particulary new. Then again, that's fairly hard to do nowadays. If for a little elaboration on the scenario then it'd been a 5 star; was hoping for more from the story than a fight scene.

Really great; if you don't mind answering - What programs did you use to achieve this?



Monopoly4uMonopoly4u

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 30, 2012

The animation and graphics were great, from the backdrops to the way the characters looked and moved. You can definitely see that a lot of work went in to perfecting this piece.

I liked the storyline, but I felt it needed something between when the big man falls and the chase begins. I like that no words are spoken in the whole thing, but maybe words mouthed to the child from the father at this point would've drove the point home better in my opinion than a repetitive hand gesture? Either way, it's only nitpicking. Really great work.



cmkinusncmkinusn

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars May 30, 2012

This was a great animation, something I think that could be worked into perhaps other small scenarios of similar settings. I always found something fascinating about post-apocalyptic games and movies and this one has a very interesting view!

@kirby311: It is clear by the dad's reaction that he has seen this type of creature (be it man or robot or mutant) before and that is why he handed over the water. I think its far more likely this beast is a former human and needs the water for actual sustenance. I think he catches fire because of wearing an exoskeletal suit that brakes rather than being robot...of course most of this is speculation, but certainly the father KNEW this thing was dangerous and it was definitely being aggressive without a doubt



ZombieBlissZombieBliss

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 30, 2012

wow, Loved it. Very well made piece, and the art style was refreshing (aww I made a pun). 5/5 and a fav wall



kirby311kirby311

Rated 4 / 5 stars May 29, 2012

I thought the video was actually sad because the robot only seemed to be running after the little girl to put out the fire on his head and he was given the water in the first place he did not demand it or make them give it to them. And then he was killed while trying to save his life.