Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
May 11, 2012 | 1:53 AM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice May 16, 2012
  • Daily Feature May 12, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

EDIT: Cool! Thanks you guys for the Daily First, Weekly First and Front Page! Couldn't have done it without you guys!

Ladies and Gentlemen, I present to you "Timeless", the first flash animation that took me only one week to create. This was for the NATA 2012 opening round theme, Discovering Time Travel!
INFO:
Animation Program- Adobe Flash CS4
12 FPS (That's why it's a little slow)
I suppose your wondering what the kcuf is going on in this cartoon. The basic synopsis is a scientist wants to find a cure for his wife, finds a time machine and travels to the future. He soon discovers that he can't cheat his way by skipping ahead of time. This time void thingie he's in is a blank field where the laws of physics and time don't apply. This scientist now has to wait for the present to catch up with him. Sort of like writing a book, you can't go far ahead or you'll end up with blank pages. Finally, he goes crazy in a matter of days and starts drawing everywhere.
The main focus is the story, not the animation quality. I'd prefer to see what you guys interpret in terms of a story(I haven't spoiled much of the details) because I've left openings for your own conclusions.
Well that's enough talk from me! Don't forget to rate 5!
-Mike Southmoor

Reviews


Kirby02Kirby02

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 15, 2012

That was pretty deep. First and foremost, I loved the music. Maybe it's because I'm a musician and I appreciate it more, but it completely set the mood. Normally, I hate it when people use it to force an emotion or mood, but it flowed smoothly and powerfully, so, good for you! The animation, even though you said to not look at it, fits the story. It wasn't choppy and I know it must have taken a lot of work to do so.
I had to actually look at Timeless twice for it to register in my head on what just happened. It was very emotional at first to know how much he would do for her, and I was swept away with him and his frustration. There were these doors that reminded me of opening the door to your own future, and I'm probably wrong. Maybe it was his desperation that drove him to imagine an exit or an escape. At one part, he was drawing and he turned around, his face an evil expression. Needless to say, it was unexpected and it kind of scared me. It just left a deep impression on me that I think he thought he was responsible for all of what happened and his misery affected his appearance in that one expression. I recall a certain story in which the main character is trapped in a spell where she remains sleeping for 100 years, only waking up when she was ready. I think he was ready, after all of those years. He not necessarily gave up, but I think he understood more and accepted her illness/death, which is why he was transported back. For the ending, it was...interesting. Throughout the story, tiny memories were played back. This sort of led me to believe that it really was her, and not her ghost looking at that grave. It was her, but it was a memory of her, I believe. Perhaps she was already prepared for death and had stared at that grave. She had said ,"I love you," early on, and I think people who are dying have already settled in their hearts for their departing. She was ready, he wasn't, which is why the memory of her looking at that grave kind of broke him with the truth. Some people who don't want to believe the truth block it out and continue on, but I think he realized it, so that's also why he was let out of that blank field.
Am I assuming too much? This is all a guess and really elaborate. Thank you for it, though.


People find this review helpful!

lebbertjlebbertj

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 16, 2012

That was very moving.



IzunaXIzunaX

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 12, 2012

It would be a crime if you don't pass this round with THIS! And yep, the funniest and sweetest part of these themed animations are the plots people come up with.

Though I'm not fond of downer endings...


People find this review helpful!

vivix25vivix25

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 14, 2012

The emotion in this animation is amazing, the gradual degradation of the scientist is perfectly captured. Insanity is my favorite topic of media. This is by far my absolute favorite flash animation ever made. The song choice is also perfect for this and so is the choice of not having no sound effects. Beautiful, just beautiful.



r0mel21r0mel21

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 8, 2012

poor guy. sometimes people do different things for there loved ones.. its sad..