Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
May 11, 2012 | 1:53 AM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice May 16, 2012
  • Daily Feature May 12, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

EDIT: Cool! Thanks you guys for the Daily First, Weekly First and Front Page! Couldn't have done it without you guys!

Ladies and Gentlemen, I present to you "Timeless", the first flash animation that took me only one week to create. This was for the NATA 2012 opening round theme, Discovering Time Travel!
INFO:
Animation Program- Adobe Flash CS4
12 FPS (That's why it's a little slow)
I suppose your wondering what the kcuf is going on in this cartoon. The basic synopsis is a scientist wants to find a cure for his wife, finds a time machine and travels to the future. He soon discovers that he can't cheat his way by skipping ahead of time. This time void thingie he's in is a blank field where the laws of physics and time don't apply. This scientist now has to wait for the present to catch up with him. Sort of like writing a book, you can't go far ahead or you'll end up with blank pages. Finally, he goes crazy in a matter of days and starts drawing everywhere.
The main focus is the story, not the animation quality. I'd prefer to see what you guys interpret in terms of a story(I haven't spoiled much of the details) because I've left openings for your own conclusions.
Well that's enough talk from me! Don't forget to rate 5!
-Mike Southmoor

Reviews


danielguitar1996danielguitar1996

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars May 19, 2012

Its very great
Nice music
Nice Art
very well written
I love it


People find this review helpful!

RoosterheadRoosterhead

Rated 4 / 5 stars May 14, 2012

The story takes a moment to grasp. I kept being interupted by my own questions about the possibilities of what could happen. The music really carried the flow of the story. The art style was perfect, simple but not simple enough to throw off the idea that the story was about somehting serious.



glumpotglumpot

Rated 4 / 5 stars June 5, 2012

Wow, hard way to learn a lesson! I'm guessing the message here is appreciate the time you have? On a side note, reminds me of the movie "The Fountain".



SincerialisticSincerialistic

Rated 4 / 5 stars August 20, 2012

As both a fellow writer and scientist I will give you my thoughts.

Being a scientist himself he raises his own intelligence for the betterment of humanity. After entering the Time Void and becoming unable to eat and possible sleep for 5 years he may have a few angry opinions about what he did. However he wouldn't go as far as to blaming others for his own curiosity. Having the drawing power with the marker the logical standpoint would to recall the information he saw on the board in an attempt to understand the device. Something which would take years to understand anyways but doable if he really wanted to leave.

The more important factors of this story are the implications and effect of the device missing. You don't just "be" a scientist. You have an idea, a group funds you to make that idea possible based on the values of science. Over the course of the 5 years that group would have noticed the scientist and the device missing thus linking the two. The fact that 5 years past in-story and that building was clean and with power means the group has considerable finances to make the other scientist rebuild the device. Though with the chalkboard erased and him running out, would be implying the control of time is too great for anyone to have. However leaving the device on the table is either a careless mistake by him or he was running to get the higher ups to look at his research. Either way they were close to perfecting the technology with or without that scientist. Which means with-in those 5 years in the Time Void he would have met others at some point.(Given that there is only one general space for all time travelers to interact in while traveling between destinations)

I would suggest continuing the storyline though an enemies eyes. Portraying the scientist as a villain trying to corrupt time by bringing back his lost love. (Which also could be put under the impression that the group saved her to use as a bargaining chip in order to get back the device if he ever returned.) I digress.

It has potential...


People find this review helpful!

TageuerTageuer

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars May 16, 2012

Deep message badly delivered. Feels pretentious.