Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
May 11, 2012 | 1:53 AM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice May 16, 2012
  • Daily Feature May 12, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

EDIT: Cool! Thanks you guys for the Daily First, Weekly First and Front Page! Couldn't have done it without you guys!

Ladies and Gentlemen, I present to you "Timeless", the first flash animation that took me only one week to create. This was for the NATA 2012 opening round theme, Discovering Time Travel!
INFO:
Animation Program- Adobe Flash CS4
12 FPS (That's why it's a little slow)
I suppose your wondering what the kcuf is going on in this cartoon. The basic synopsis is a scientist wants to find a cure for his wife, finds a time machine and travels to the future. He soon discovers that he can't cheat his way by skipping ahead of time. This time void thingie he's in is a blank field where the laws of physics and time don't apply. This scientist now has to wait for the present to catch up with him. Sort of like writing a book, you can't go far ahead or you'll end up with blank pages. Finally, he goes crazy in a matter of days and starts drawing everywhere.
The main focus is the story, not the animation quality. I'd prefer to see what you guys interpret in terms of a story(I haven't spoiled much of the details) because I've left openings for your own conclusions.
Well that's enough talk from me! Don't forget to rate 5!
-Mike Southmoor

Reviews


dragonflamesmediadragonflamesmedia

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 16, 2012

As an conclusion, it seems that either his wife survived dispite her husband's dissapearance and eventual death call, or the scientist ran out to find his wife's grave, only to wish that he could take that moment of discovery of the time machine and all those years of research in limbo if only to have those last few moments with his wife.

As I believe he was a scientist in the research of the cure that his wife needed, theoretically speaking, being stuck in limbo would give him ample time to do his 5 year research, however it seems that destiny plays it's cards no matter what trump you have.

This movie puts a great spin off the saying "how far would you go for the one you love?"

Great animation, keep it up!


People find this review helpful!

GeobukseonGeobukseon

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars May 16, 2012

This was tragic, but simply amazing. I can't express how much I loved this flash. It had it all, good music, a good story and a good message; that there is no easy way out... even with time travel.
Honestly, you should be proud of yourselves for taking the time to make this. It was spectacular.


People find this review helpful!

Kirby02Kirby02

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 15, 2012

That was pretty deep. First and foremost, I loved the music. Maybe it's because I'm a musician and I appreciate it more, but it completely set the mood. Normally, I hate it when people use it to force an emotion or mood, but it flowed smoothly and powerfully, so, good for you! The animation, even though you said to not look at it, fits the story. It wasn't choppy and I know it must have taken a lot of work to do so.
I had to actually look at Timeless twice for it to register in my head on what just happened. It was very emotional at first to know how much he would do for her, and I was swept away with him and his frustration. There were these doors that reminded me of opening the door to your own future, and I'm probably wrong. Maybe it was his desperation that drove him to imagine an exit or an escape. At one part, he was drawing and he turned around, his face an evil expression. Needless to say, it was unexpected and it kind of scared me. It just left a deep impression on me that I think he thought he was responsible for all of what happened and his misery affected his appearance in that one expression. I recall a certain story in which the main character is trapped in a spell where she remains sleeping for 100 years, only waking up when she was ready. I think he was ready, after all of those years. He not necessarily gave up, but I think he understood more and accepted her illness/death, which is why he was transported back. For the ending, it was...interesting. Throughout the story, tiny memories were played back. This sort of led me to believe that it really was her, and not her ghost looking at that grave. It was her, but it was a memory of her, I believe. Perhaps she was already prepared for death and had stared at that grave. She had said ,"I love you," early on, and I think people who are dying have already settled in their hearts for their departing. She was ready, he wasn't, which is why the memory of her looking at that grave kind of broke him with the truth. Some people who don't want to believe the truth block it out and continue on, but I think he realized it, so that's also why he was let out of that blank field.
Am I assuming too much? This is all a guess and really elaborate. Thank you for it, though.


People find this review helpful!

DayngeresqueDayngeresque

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 15, 2012

Cruel twist that he would have to wait out the amount of time he chose to move forward, equally as cruel that his wife thought he was dead before she passed and unfortunate he was gone when she did. Pretty much, I hate you.


People find this review helpful!

HawkeyedEliteHawkeyedElite

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 15, 2012

I don't even know where to begin with how much I loved this flash. It's symbolism in its sickest forms, toying with the nature of science-fiction, and creating a whole new outlook on the unrestricted plane of creativity within realism. Mike, you have created a beautiful idea within the provoked minds of literature and science, combining drama and internal conflict in such an unorthodox way. But, then again, who's to say unorthodox isn't good?

I'll get the one you don't want out of the way first: the animation. It's simple, blocky, and has its share of interesting perspectives (for example, the first time the scientist drew that vertically swirled line in, what I'm calling, Limbo). I thought that this animation fit the scenario; the science-fiction motif and trace amounts of realism create the sense of a gritty, sharp world that turns down the protagonist. Henceforth, the blocky figures. The animation and movements were simple, but not TOO simple, making the objects flow better and more pleasurable to look at. The animation, in layman's terms, was eye-candy.

Now for the storyline. I loved the idea for opening with the marker drawings in Limbo; the first time I saw them, suspended in the air, I asked some questions; "Where are we?", "Why are the pictures floating?", "Who's Melanie?", "Find a cure for what?", "Who's the man?", the list goes on. I have only one complaint after this: Some of the drawings could have been eluded. For example, the "I will find a cure" lines could have been taken out, just to keep the watcher guessing on who Melanie was, and what the purpose of writing her name was with no conjunction. Just my opinion, but moving on.
I liked how you flashed some of the marker drawings into the flashback; it was disorienting at times, but made sense because of the drawings in the beginning. But, I do have one other the complaint: the introduction to the time machine. A guy bumps into him and leaves the door open? No offense, but I thought that it was a weak way to introduce a major symbol. Perhaps you could've created a devious bandwagon; everybody wanted it, but the protagonist put himself ahead of the rest and used it, creating a future trapped by his greed. I don't know; you wrote this, I just provide feedback.
I will say, I liked the tinge of humor when I read the blackboard in the lab room closer. It was a nice ligth-hearted joke that was subtle, but noticable. Then there's the time machine itself; frankly, I thought it would have stood out more. The initial warp and looking around was an intresting touch, and the part where he kicks the time machine away was pretty dramatic, showing how he gave up hope of returning. And, to address one more part about Limbo, I thought that the outlined Earth was awesome. No matter how many times or how short a cut-away was to show it, I loved it. Moving on. The slip into insanity was quick and very dramatic. The music in the background was beautiful and perfect for the subject.
Finally, the warp back into reality and the ending. The transition from Limbo to the lab was a little rushed, and I liked the attention to detail (everything being broken). I have one final complaint: Why was Melanie standing at her grave? I didn't understand it at all. I questioned if she thought the scientist was dead and never found, or if Melanie was dead. The tombstone was never shone. It was confusing, but made a nice ambiguous ending nonetheless.

In conclusion, Mike Southmoor, "Timeless" is in it of itself: Timeless. It's a harmonious symbol of the prideful advances in science and science-fiction, as well as the lengths a person will go to for a loved one. Although, this tragedy of a story shows that the scientist's greed for answers led to his downfall in the future. The ambiguity of the ending is chilling, accompanied by the music, made it all the more incredible. The whole of the flash animation was a revolutionary new take on the classic idea of time travel, and I for one commend you for that. It's refreshing to see a new view on a popular idea, no matter how unorthodox. Bravo.


People find this review helpful!