Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
May 7, 2012 | 7:50 PM EDT
  • Daily 2nd Place May 9, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

DISCLAIMER: At one point in this short I make a little joke about Machinima, I want to make it clear that, I have no problems with Machinima, I'm a Machinima director. I'm not the greatest animator in the world, but my opinion of SOME of the other Machinima animators is quite low, in fact because of how bad their animations are it INSPIRED me to animate, because if they can do it, anyone can.

Anyway, this is just a little animation about me making more animations. So every cartoon I make is essentially part of a series about me becoming a better animator, and potentially befriending other great animators! This was also a little tribute to every animator mentioned in the video, cause you know, I'm "fighting the best to become the best" sort of deal.

And the song at the end is "The Sunlit Earth," from Shadow of the Colossus.

EDIT: Sometimes when the video loads it might zoom in, just right click and "show all." I have no idea why it's doing this now.

Reviews


Pocky88Pocky88

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 16, 2012

You know, I'm sure most of us have been on a quite similar quest ever since we discovered almighty Newgrounds(at least I know I do). I'm just glad that someone in the vast pits of the universe finally did it. Actually, you've ALREADY done it. Your animation skill is pretty much up there already and this was funny without relying on outbursts of anger. And what you said about Machinima is true...not that they're bad, but its cheap.


People find this review helpful!
TerminalMontage responds:

Hey thanks :]


fantasymaniafantasymania

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 14, 2012

Look. I like you. I think you got potential. You stroke gold with HIGT: Dark Souls. I watched that shit like 234234 times. You're just what Newgrounds needs, wants, and lacked for a goddamn long time. So let me give you a pro tip (not that I'm a pro, but, still, man, give me some cred): if you're trying to make the point something was boring (i.e. intro of SoC), don't do it by actually boring your audience( (i.e. replicating the intro of SoC). Come up with a creative and funny way of getting the same point across. I'm sure there's plenty. You did exactly that in your Dark Souls video. That's why everyone loved it so much. The key to being successfully funny is that you just gotta think about and predict the perspectives of the viewer.

This video was nevertheless a brilliant idea. (That's why you're awesome and will continue to be). The execution was just poor and lacking, which is nothing a little more time put into planning and experience won't fix. You'll get better. I EXPECT GREAT THINGS FROM YOU BROTHA. THANK YOU FOR DOING WHAT YOU'RE DOING.


People find this review helpful!
TerminalMontage responds:

Thanks, you know it seemed like a better idea in my head, then halfway through I almost stopped cause I realized it wasn't funny (even though some people thought it was, bless their hearts), that kind of thinking is what made me gave up animating years ago and decide not to do it (until 3 months ago) I figured I should just stick with it and keep on trucking, I still learned a bit and improved a little, but I definitely need to plan things better so I know exactly what I'm doing, thanks again!


CatalysteCatalyste

Rated 4 / 5 stars May 13, 2012

I love how the God-voice just laughed! lol

Well I'm not a fan of Machinima....they're just good for some trailers once in a while. Some of their shorts are pretty crappy....so no.

I'm sure you're well aware that some of those guys actually went to school to learn how to animate, while some....obviously didn't.

Good luck on that road. You have great material. I honestly wanted to see you traverse through the landscape, defeat the Animators, and absorb their powers! lol I wonder what sort of animation power you would have had and who would have to come in to stop you.

I really do wish they gave us more of that game. It was awesome to experience.


People find this review helpful!
TerminalMontage responds:

Thank you, I wish there was more to SotC :c It was soooo good.


UndeadGaryUndeadGary

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars May 13, 2012

It was great and i liked how you did the demon gods voice its just like the one from the game. the rest of the audio was good too but it just kind of bugged me how it cut in and out near the start, but other than that this came out pretty nicely with good tip of the hats to pretty famous online animators plus i got to agree with you on machinima. thanks for that.


People find this review helpful!
TerminalMontage responds:

Hey thanks!


BeardedJamesBeardedJames

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars May 12, 2012

Well... You've quite obviously got the skills I mean, you're on the front page, the animation is fluid, the voice acting is better than most, perhaps a little lacking in emotion at times, (voices are pretty much all I'm good at so this would be the part you'd want to listen to :p) but all in all you've easily got what it takes to become, "One of the greats".

The only issues I have with this animation are the time it took to get going, (but everyone's been bitchin' at you about that so I figure you don't need to hear it again) and, even though you were quite obviously making a joke, the fact you basically just asked to be famous... I'm not sure whether it's because usually people become famous first, then ask how they become this popular or just because it makes you sound a little, I hesitate to say, soulless but it makes it out like you're doing this just for the fame, but I digress, I trust/know that this video is intended as a joke and hope everyone else views it that way too and I fully believe you're doing this primarily because it's your passion :D

Finally, not wishing to sound like a creeper here, but I've had my eye on you since you started and I have to admit I've enjoyed all of your flashes so far, granted sometimes the jokes take a little time to get going but they're there eventually and I always laugh so keep up your amazing work you have my full support! C:

(And if you're ever stuck for an idea or two, I have an over active imagination and no talent with flash animations, so I'd be honoured if you'd consider any of my ideas to inspire you if you're in a creative rut... Wow now I sound like the soulless sell-out!! ;) )

(Only 4.5 stars otherwise I'll feel like a mindless fanboy :3)


People find this review helpful!
TerminalMontage responds:

Thanks! Yeah my voice needs work, I'm working on it! I got the same mic Ricepirate uses so I guess I'm off to an okay start c:

And yeah it was a joke, to expect to become friends with great animators after only 4 animations, hah. Thanks again!