Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
May 3, 2012 | 12:09 PM EDT
  • Daily Feature May 4, 2012
  • Weekly 3rd Place May 9, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

First Contact 5 Points touch enemy or spike... not sooo clever!
First Kill 10 Points kill the first enemy!
Hang Of It 25 Points That's the way things work!
Top Floor Clear 25 Points mastered the first floor!
Gun Get 50 Points found a gun!
Boss Killer 100 Points kill the Evil End Boss!
MAX XP 100 Points maximum level experience!
Cash King Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

Johnny Upgrade is a super hero with no skills at all... initially!

Collect coins and buy upgrades in order to beef up this cartoon fellow and to master the big arcade level and beat the evil boss!

Have fun with this action / upgrade game mashup!
Rob

News: Medals up and running!
(didn't have the time to read and answer all the comments because of that medals thingy, but will do!)

Reviews


davedudedeadodavedudedeado

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars May 5, 2012

this game was great im not gonna spill the beans but the secret medal is worth getting altogether this game was great and i got 415 points for it



DruggrDruggr

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars May 5, 2012

Upon reading the title of the game, I thought, 'Wow, this could be the new Upgrade Complete! series'. I started playing the game and immediately died. Then I saw the menu and thought, 'Oh boy, maybe this IS a new Upgrade Complete! series!?'
I played for another 5 minutes and noticed that the controls were perfect, yet also irritating. I was constantly getting sliced up by spikes because of the fast movement mechanics.
I got the gun and started raining hell on... 2, maybe 3 bad guys. But I made it to the final boss. Then I died. And I saw that I had died about 50 times and realised that this was a game where you would die a lot. Unfornutately, there was something about the graphics, the music and the setting combined that made me want to stop playing. But I soldiered on.
Eventually, I upgraded everything. By this time, I noticed the boss's pattern and I beat him. But the ending, was just a bit pathetic. I was at least expecting a small cutscene or a troll ending. Yes, I am saying that the Upgrade Complete! games actually have good endings because they left you pissed. They gave a feeling that you could remember. This ending sorta makes you go'...yeah whatever'.
Though I had a bit of criticism, I'm not saying this game sucks. I'm not saying 'Oh this is shit. 3.5'. I'm saying 'It's great but could do a bit better. 3.5.'
So in conclusion, this game is not the new Upgrade Complete!. But this game is still pretty fun and is a good way to waste 20-30 minutes of your time.


People find this review helpful!

boregamerboregamer

Rated 4 / 5 stars May 5, 2012

Batman's wannabee younger brother?



SpikeyBiscuitSpikeyBiscuit

Rated 2.5 / 5 stars May 5, 2012

A well made game, but short. I also don't like the idea of basing a game off the elements that are supposed to make it fun and challenging, i.e. upgrading. Looking back over the whole experience, I've played better platformers, the whole point of beating the game was to beat the game, and in essence I just wasted a bunch of my time upgrading, and doing nothing but upgrading. Personally, I hate games that make you do nothing but grind, and that's all this is.

Still, you get 2.5 stars for good sound and art, as well as the fact that this was still a well made game. Good job, but please come up with something more creative next time.



kerbourchardkerbourchard

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 4, 2012

It was pretty fun and decently time consuming. However, I think it was kind of sad that his super power was a gun. The super power of any thug, redneck, loser who picks up a gun. Granted most of them don't shoot lasers.