Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
May 3, 2012 | 12:09 PM EDT
  • Daily Feature May 4, 2012
  • Weekly 3rd Place May 9, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

First Contact 5 Points touch enemy or spike... not sooo clever!
First Kill 10 Points kill the first enemy!
Hang Of It 25 Points That's the way things work!
Top Floor Clear 25 Points mastered the first floor!
Gun Get 50 Points found a gun!
Boss Killer 100 Points kill the Evil End Boss!
MAX XP 100 Points maximum level experience!
Cash King Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

Johnny Upgrade is a super hero with no skills at all... initially!

Collect coins and buy upgrades in order to beef up this cartoon fellow and to master the big arcade level and beat the evil boss!

Have fun with this action / upgrade game mashup!
Rob

News: Medals up and running!
(didn't have the time to read and answer all the comments because of that medals thingy, but will do!)

Reviews


AfenAfen

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars May 12, 2012

Well done flash here. I like the idea of creating a super hero from scratch and slowly working him up form a guy who can't even walk, to someone who can take an explosion to the face and still keep fighting. It's certainly an interesting idea with potential.

However, I feel that this game would benefit from more variety. Perhaps a there should be multiple choices for powers, each with its own pro and cons. For example: maybe the player would be able to choose between three or more attacks for them to use. They could punch (highest power, unlimited ammo but very little range), use a gun (average power, limited ammo, long range) or magic (lowest power, unlimited ammo, long range). It's just a suggestion should you wish to make another.

However, this was an entertaining game and an excellent time waster. Good job.


People find this review helpful!

HolyCrapolasHolyCrapolas

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars May 12, 2012

Hmm. Interesting game. I think the boss is hard, though. My favorite part is the beginning when he can't walk or jump.



zilxzilx

Rated 4 / 5 stars May 12, 2012

So, yeah, little bug. I was playing, made it to the final boss, time was running out, fired with 1 second left, the shot went off, i exploded when the clock hit 0, then the boss smashed down on my shot and died. I got the medal and everything, but then it kicked me back into the upgrade screen. :)



unknown152000unknown152000

Rated 4 / 5 stars May 12, 2012

That was good... I really just dont like the concept of waiting for the boss to do his attacks before you can hit him... i think it was a waste of time.. realtime.. haha but i like the upgrading thing.. Good job..



toto-rextoto-rex

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 12, 2012

hello ´´whilewirking´´.
First i want to congratulate you for creating such a great game.
at first i tough that i was going to be just another repetitive upgrade game, but as soon as i saw the TIME factor i was relived.
the concept is good (upgrades game) and you even added your own twist.
its veen a while since i review a game, but i all way take this factor in mind

concept: its new?. well no but you make it yours which its almost as hard. ONE STAR

Art & graphics: well the art its just fine (full of color ) and the graphics were perfect to make the game run smoothly . ONE STAR

Music & fx: just right ONE STAR

Controls: the controls were simple, and sometimes simple is good. ONE STAR

playability: the game is playable? yes. it's hard? no. it's fun? hell yes!. ONE STAR

also you get and extra for the vindictiveness(i got all the medals in one sit).
and because ill play the game again even that y already bated it.
so overall you get..
5/5 STARS!!

I hope you continue making this great games.
god luck.
toto-rex.