Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Apr 15, 2012 | 11:12 AM EDT
  • Daily 3rd Place April 16, 2012
  • Weekly 2nd Place April 18, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

Athenos is the astral entity of Knowledge, in one of his travels he finds a tribe of rare beings, called by him Hominods. Observing that they are fated to extinction, he decides to intervene, but could they appreciate the invaluable treasure that he will left in their hands? or may the ignorance become an unbreachable obstacle to their evolution?

This is the animated prologue of my title project "Chronicles of the forgotten world", it's an educative material, made as a reading incentive for kids.
-------------

Edit

Thanks Newgrounds for the third place trophy, and more yet to all the people that voted and commented my animation, i worked really hard on this one. I'm really glad to see that so many people understood the message that i was trying to tell with this animation. I'm really happy with the results. Thanks to all of you!

-----------
Edit

Weekly 2nd OMG

Thank you so much!

Reviews


MasterAardvark2MasterAardvark2

Rated 4 / 5 stars April 16, 2012

Whoops, accidentally hit submit. As I was saying:
Good job man, this was quite impressive.
If there's one thing I really like to see, it's digital animation which combines traditional frame by frame with tweens, or with moving around pieces by hand (essentially cut-out animation), and uses them to enhance the animation, rather than just as a corner-cutting device. Here you were very tactical when it came to mixing these techniques, and the times that you chose to use each were very well chosen.
The problem most people have when they do this kind of hybrid animation, is that usually their frame-by-frame is less defined and it stands out. Some sequences really call for frame-by-frame, and there's no way around learning the proper traditional techniques.
This however is quite an unusual reversal of that. Your frame-by-frame techniques were spot on and I can tell you've been doing your reading. It was actually your tweening skills that were letting you down here. And that's not a bad place to be, cuz you've got a good grasp of the hard bit. Now you just need to dedicate some time into mastering the easy bit.

You've got some mad skills here son, looking forward to seeing more from you.


Impkid responds:

Thank you so much Aadvark! what an awesome surprise! You are absolutely right about the tweening, i think that this time i was less careful on the tween sequences, i will put more time and effort in those next time.

Truly speaking i was a bit dissapointed about how far it went, but reading all the incredible comments i think that the objective was reached, and i have learned a lot in the process of this animation, i'm speaking with more animators now, and trying to learn more and improve my skills.
I'm glad to read your comment, having a critique from you it's a great archievement to me, thank you again :D


denteferrodenteferro

Rated 4 / 5 stars April 18, 2012

it seems Minecraft


Impkid responds:

Do you think so? everything seems minecraft these days xD


WildFredoWildFredo

Rated 4 / 5 stars April 20, 2012

Really nice animation... but it looks like you based it on christianity a lil bit too much xDDD hahahahaha but nah, pretty decent



ArmyofDorknessArmyofDorkness

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars April 23, 2012

what, so the owl guy don't care about the bear thing? what if he can't find more food and goes extinct? the stupid monkey things would then overpopulate and be worse off than before.
thats why the prime directive states that the federation will not interfere with developing worlds.



AdimantherAdimanther

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars April 18, 2012

While your effort into transmitting a message and the clean animation are undeniable, this story is ultimately banal and no part your work really stands out. A shorter flash with more frames per second would have been smooth enough to stand out, while the story requires a more professional approach to do the same.


People find this review helpful!