Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Apr 15, 2012 | 11:12 AM EDT
  • Daily 3rd Place April 16, 2012
  • Weekly 2nd Place April 18, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

Athenos is the astral entity of Knowledge, in one of his travels he finds a tribe of rare beings, called by him Hominods. Observing that they are fated to extinction, he decides to intervene, but could they appreciate the invaluable treasure that he will left in their hands? or may the ignorance become an unbreachable obstacle to their evolution?

This is the animated prologue of my title project "Chronicles of the forgotten world", it's an educative material, made as a reading incentive for kids.
-------------

Edit

Thanks Newgrounds for the third place trophy, and more yet to all the people that voted and commented my animation, i worked really hard on this one. I'm really glad to see that so many people understood the message that i was trying to tell with this animation. I'm really happy with the results. Thanks to all of you!

-----------
Edit

Weekly 2nd OMG

Thank you so much!

Reviews


alukard1991alukard1991

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars April 16, 2012

Very good, I am still learning to do animation by myself, but I give 4.5 stars only because something is still missing in here.


Impkid responds:

I recommend you the animator's survival kit, i'm reading it right now, is really inspiring, useful and helpful. And about what is missing, i'm sure that there is a lot of things, but i want to keep improving.

Thank you for the comment.


HorusaHorusa

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars April 18, 2012

Knowledge is power guard it well
nice movie, good plot cant find anything i dont like :)



BerserkGmrBerserkGmr

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars April 21, 2012

I made an NG account just for this. The art style is beutiful and the story is profound. I did notice that the animation would jump around in a few scenes, wish it all flowed smoothly if that makes sense.



mrnihilmrnihil

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars April 18, 2012

I was drawn in by the icon, but then it was all epic and stuff, and I though "goddamnit, I know what this is..." and it's trying to teach me lessons at the end, so I was disappointed. It was less painful than Spirit Science, but books and knowledge are for dorks, so I can't give this a very good score... animation was ok, so I guess I'll give you a... 2/5, or a 4 out of 10 (I don't understand the new Newgrounds too well).



billguncrashbillguncrash

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars April 18, 2012

On the technical side the animation was superb. Clear attractive lines, smooth animation and transitions and great backgrounds. The music did match the animation and was quite nice at certain points.

Now on the content. The message is one that should be heard since anti intellectualism is an ever present threat. However, I did not quite like the biblical allegory as a mean to pass the message that knowledge is power. Furthermore, considering that your target group is children the plot and he allegory might be too convoluted for ages.

I didn't appreciate depicting the knowledge as agift for a higher entity, as it distorts the truth which is that the totality of our knowledge is the fruit of the labor of countless men and not a magical creation. Figuratively though it is true that knowledge is a gift and it should be held in high regard.

To sum up, you did a great job with the animation and the choice of music but the way you pass the message that "knowledge is power" is unfit. Overall a great attempt by a skilled animator.


People find this review helpful!