Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Apr 15, 2012 | 11:12 AM EDT
  • Daily 3rd Place April 16, 2012
  • Weekly 2nd Place April 18, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

Athenos is the astral entity of Knowledge, in one of his travels he finds a tribe of rare beings, called by him Hominods. Observing that they are fated to extinction, he decides to intervene, but could they appreciate the invaluable treasure that he will left in their hands? or may the ignorance become an unbreachable obstacle to their evolution?

This is the animated prologue of my title project "Chronicles of the forgotten world", it's an educative material, made as a reading incentive for kids.
-------------

Edit

Thanks Newgrounds for the third place trophy, and more yet to all the people that voted and commented my animation, i worked really hard on this one. I'm really glad to see that so many people understood the message that i was trying to tell with this animation. I'm really happy with the results. Thanks to all of you!

-----------
Edit

Weekly 2nd OMG

Thank you so much!

Reviews


TransparentPresenceTransparentPresence

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 17, 2012

I love mythology themed things, so this immediately caught my attention.

On the more observable aspects you really captured the mythological aspect really well, to me this was really shown by the music that went with it - it was captivating, moving and had that epic-like quality to it :) really caught my attention. Animation was quite well done, but no offense their hands and feet all look the same....I'm pretty sure this is deliberate though.

The story itself was quite well done as well, it was a creative way of portraying the major block for a person (or a species in this case) towards the progression to a higher state is always ignorance - I also liked how there wasn't a lot of violence in portraying this ignorance...what I mean was that there wasn't any blood spilled, like when Athenos decided it was time to leave...the hominoids all clung to him only because they wanted him to stay and do all the thinking for them. Just something I observed, probably doesn't mean too much. But yes, the story is certainly quite engaging and meaningful so well done on that. I also liked it that it was the smallest of the hominoids that may be the only one that got the significance of Athenos' gift...interesting stuff.

I was initially going to say that it was to short and that more should go into it, then I read your edit that this is an animated prologue for something else and that got me excited. I'm also interested if there would be any voice acting to your later animations...in any case though...I would really like to see the story fleshed out further! You really got an epic set up here, can't wait to see more :)



dragonflamesmediadragonflamesmedia

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 21, 2012

this is almost a great inspiring piece, only one thing still bugs me though... why give a book to the illiterate? I belive the saying "Give a man a fish" was the theme you went for, however, you forgot to show how Athenos shows them to read.... without that, the book is useless.... Pictures are ok, but a book of knoledge without being able to attain such knoledge is kind of a fools reward.

Other than that, I think all of this was awesome: The artwork, readability, timing, character designs... all of it.



CommanderOrion732CommanderOrion732

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 18, 2012

Great animation, love the story behind it. I really enjoyed the abstract quality of the animation and the music fit perfectly. The message was profound and the way you presented it was brilliant. The only downside is that I expect this to start showing up on Ancient Aliens quoted as direct evidence. At any rate, it reminded me greatly of Arthur C. Clarke's "2001: A Space Odyssey" and "2010: Odyssey Two".

Fived and Faved



KieromanKieroman

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 19, 2012

Wow, that was brilliantly made.

Very fluid animation also.



pinsk4111pinsk4111

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 19, 2012

good story and animation.. nothing more to say.