Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Apr 15, 2012 | 11:12 AM EDT
  • Daily 3rd Place April 16, 2012
  • Weekly 2nd Place April 18, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

Athenos is the astral entity of Knowledge, in one of his travels he finds a tribe of rare beings, called by him Hominods. Observing that they are fated to extinction, he decides to intervene, but could they appreciate the invaluable treasure that he will left in their hands? or may the ignorance become an unbreachable obstacle to their evolution?

This is the animated prologue of my title project "Chronicles of the forgotten world", it's an educative material, made as a reading incentive for kids.
-------------

Edit

Thanks Newgrounds for the third place trophy, and more yet to all the people that voted and commented my animation, i worked really hard on this one. I'm really glad to see that so many people understood the message that i was trying to tell with this animation. I'm really happy with the results. Thanks to all of you!

-----------
Edit

Weekly 2nd OMG

Thank you so much!

Reviews


ThothyGoodnethThothyGoodneth

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 17, 2012

And this is how Jesus did it.



TransparentPresenceTransparentPresence

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 17, 2012

I love mythology themed things, so this immediately caught my attention.

On the more observable aspects you really captured the mythological aspect really well, to me this was really shown by the music that went with it - it was captivating, moving and had that epic-like quality to it :) really caught my attention. Animation was quite well done, but no offense their hands and feet all look the same....I'm pretty sure this is deliberate though.

The story itself was quite well done as well, it was a creative way of portraying the major block for a person (or a species in this case) towards the progression to a higher state is always ignorance - I also liked how there wasn't a lot of violence in portraying this ignorance...what I mean was that there wasn't any blood spilled, like when Athenos decided it was time to leave...the hominoids all clung to him only because they wanted him to stay and do all the thinking for them. Just something I observed, probably doesn't mean too much. But yes, the story is certainly quite engaging and meaningful so well done on that. I also liked it that it was the smallest of the hominoids that may be the only one that got the significance of Athenos' gift...interesting stuff.

I was initially going to say that it was to short and that more should go into it, then I read your edit that this is an animated prologue for something else and that got me excited. I'm also interested if there would be any voice acting to your later animations...in any case though...I would really like to see the story fleshed out further! You really got an epic set up here, can't wait to see more :)



TheSmokeWolfTheSmokeWolf

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 17, 2012

I thought it was great, definitely front page material. Keep them coming!



SailoNSailoN

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars April 17, 2012

Very good animation, and pretty nice music, maybe a bit generic though.
The story in itself seemed to be based on the theory that knowledge or evolution came from more advanced lifeforms, which gave a slightly Kubrickesque feel. Very nice!
It even has a moral.
Very good work



PliXerPliXer

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 17, 2012

Knowledge is power. True! Just make sure you get your knowledge from the right books. I suggest books like ''The Origins of species'', ''Relativity: The Special and the General Theory'' and ''The Grand Design''. And avoid books like the bible and the quran.


People find this review helpful!