Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Apr 15, 2012 | 11:12 AM EDT
  • Daily 3rd Place April 16, 2012
  • Weekly 2nd Place April 18, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

Athenos is the astral entity of Knowledge, in one of his travels he finds a tribe of rare beings, called by him Hominods. Observing that they are fated to extinction, he decides to intervene, but could they appreciate the invaluable treasure that he will left in their hands? or may the ignorance become an unbreachable obstacle to their evolution?

This is the animated prologue of my title project "Chronicles of the forgotten world", it's an educative material, made as a reading incentive for kids.
-------------

Edit

Thanks Newgrounds for the third place trophy, and more yet to all the people that voted and commented my animation, i worked really hard on this one. I'm really glad to see that so many people understood the message that i was trying to tell with this animation. I'm really happy with the results. Thanks to all of you!

-----------
Edit

Weekly 2nd OMG

Thank you so much!

Reviews


Germandel87Germandel87

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars April 18, 2012

Very good work!


Impkid responds:

Thanks ;D


AdimantherAdimanther

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars April 18, 2012

While your effort into transmitting a message and the clean animation are undeniable, this story is ultimately banal and no part your work really stands out. A shorter flash with more frames per second would have been smooth enough to stand out, while the story requires a more professional approach to do the same.


People find this review helpful!

DamonandSkyDamonandSky

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 18, 2012

Alright, when I first started watching this I saw the title "Knowledge is power" and so I thought, "ahh yes, a good video to demonstrate the fundamentals of knowledge". And then there was a telekinetic creature and that put me off a little. Because for a moment I thought as well "Oh no, this isn't actually knowledge is power this is telekinesis is power", but then you brought in him not wanting to fend for those who were defenseless and instead finding it more necessary to give them the tools to teach themselves rather than to rely on him.

In life this is how we learn, someone guides us by showing us the abilities and that there is those capable, but then they allow us to practice those skills on our own to become beings capable on our own, beings in a sense...self empowered.

The animation and music was well done and had an excellent composition. You could really feel each scenario as something of another task and another way to overcome them. A great scene was the end where they want help directly from the foreign creature and thus try to stop him from leaving, but like a good parent he leaves them with the seeds to grow so that one day they may reach his skill and prowess on their own.

Good animation and a great message. Also, incorporating the necessities of reading is quite good as well. You can't trust an internet source or a mouth to necessarily practice teaching you skills in the world, it can happen doesn't always; but a book can contain the knowledge most vital because a book requires more skill and effort and much more research or knowledge to create.

5/5.


People find this review helpful!
Impkid responds:

Thank you very much, I hope you dont mind if I use your comment in my thesis as a part of a focus group excercise. I'm glad to see how people got inspired from this, thank you so much for your comment.


helraiserhelraiser

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 18, 2012

very nice the animation was impressivle and the story a lesson well learned hope it gets through to many people through this



WillpowerWillpower

Rated 4 / 5 stars April 18, 2012

...and power corrupts, and corruption is illegall, therefore reading is a crime!
It was nice , I like it. You had managed to make the yellow creatures (Allthough beastly in their appearance) human like and because of that you could feel compassion with them. Good job. :)