Support NATA 2014

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Apr 15, 2012 | 11:12 AM EDT
  • Daily 3rd Place April 16, 2012
  • Weekly 2nd Place April 18, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

Athenos is the astral entity of Knowledge, in one of his travels he finds a tribe of rare beings, called by him Hominods. Observing that they are fated to extinction, he decides to intervene, but could they appreciate the invaluable treasure that he will left in their hands? or may the ignorance become an unbreachable obstacle to their evolution?

This is the animated prologue of my title project "Chronicles of the forgotten world", it's an educative material, made as a reading incentive for kids.
-------------

Edit

Thanks Newgrounds for the third place trophy, and more yet to all the people that voted and commented my animation, i worked really hard on this one. I'm really glad to see that so many people understood the message that i was trying to tell with this animation. I'm really happy with the results. Thanks to all of you!

-----------
Edit

Weekly 2nd OMG

Thank you so much!

Reviews


meangrlmeangrl

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 21, 2012

FINALLY an awesome submission. And is very very true!



fallensoldierofdoomfallensoldierofdoom

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 21, 2012

Amazing Work. But I interpreted it much differently than most. I found that the "higher being" was like our God, rather than just a random higher being. He grants us knowledge, and we throw it away, acting as if we can live without it. So, as punishment he leaves, leaving us to teach ourselves not only what these strange words in a slab of paper mean, but how to use it to our advantage. Whether it be to build a house, Make tools, and even protect themselves. That wasn't over analyzed was it?



BerserkGmrBerserkGmr

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars April 21, 2012

I made an NG account just for this. The art style is beutiful and the story is profound. I did notice that the animation would jump around in a few scenes, wish it all flowed smoothly if that makes sense.



dragonflamesmediadragonflamesmedia

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 21, 2012

this is almost a great inspiring piece, only one thing still bugs me though... why give a book to the illiterate? I belive the saying "Give a man a fish" was the theme you went for, however, you forgot to show how Athenos shows them to read.... without that, the book is useless.... Pictures are ok, but a book of knoledge without being able to attain such knoledge is kind of a fools reward.

Other than that, I think all of this was awesome: The artwork, readability, timing, character designs... all of it.



xerochixerochi

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 21, 2012

On EVERY page. Except in the bible. Or any "holy" book. Science is best.