Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Apr 15, 2012 | 10:00 AM EDT
  • Daily 2nd Place April 16, 2012
  • Weekly 5th Place April 18, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • flixel
    flixel A collection of games made with the flixel framework!

Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Being generous! 5 Points Give John some money.
COAL 5 Points Find coal.
IRON 5 Points Find iron.
Start off your adventure! 5 Points Enter Utopia.
Vamos a la playa! 5 Points Get some sand.
A good investment... 10 Points Give Dave some money for his project.
Engineer 10 Points Help building the steammachine.
GOLD 10 Points Find gold.
It works! 10 Points Make the steammachine work.
WOLFRAM 10 Points Find wolfram.
DIAMOND 25 Points Find diamond.
Expensive experiments 25 Points Give George some smaragds.
Project completed! 25 Points Give Dave some sand.
RUBY 25 Points Find ruby.
Saving electricity 25 Points Give George some wolfram.
SMARAGD 25 Points Find smaragd.
The COre 25 Points Get the COre.
Jewelry 50 Points Give Jamie some rubies.
Hero 100 Points Finish the game
A rich robot! Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Cool! Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
The perfect robot Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

Daily 2nd place, frontpaged, so many kind reviews and such a nice rating! Well, thanks a lot guys, you're awesome! :D

EDIT: This game was inspired by 'Motherload'. It is about mining ores and selling them to buy upgrades and drill deeper. Utopian Mining is part of this mining genre, so the games share the same basic concept. However, I did my very best to make it different to other mining games, by adding a different atmosphere, a story, some quests, cartoony-8bit-graphics and another feeling to it (and some other small stuff, too).

I hope you enjoy playing it. :)

Welcome to Utopia!
A few days ago a storm destroyed nearly the whole town.
Help these people and find out more about the Core-Ore...
Mine around as a mining robot, earn money, buy better hardware and complete missions.

This game has a few missions, different upgrades for your robot like drills, chasis, cooling liquids and batteries, awesome music made by Kevin MacLeod, some selfmade 8bit sounds, and lots of coal, iron, gold, wolfram, smaragd, ruby and diamonds!

How to play:
'LEFT', 'UP', 'RIGHT', 'DOWN' - move around
'X' - interact with things
'C' - cancel or leave
'J' - jobs
'M' - map
'I' - inventory

Reviews


zab45zab45

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars April 29, 2012

kickass game!
bit a bit too short,therefore only 4.5

i'd love a sequel with more possibilities and jobs!


People find this review helpful!

kirby1837kirby1837

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars August 28, 2012

Minecraft Mining more developed and a more peaceful atmosphere. Executes very well.



amarkulaamarkula

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars April 16, 2012

½ star for shortness and the fact that level is still too plain, otherwise this is a great game with potential. While playing I already had a vision of multiplayer mode with idea that veins of iron, etc need to be harvested longer with some turret like tool that can be broken by heat, random change or other PC / NPC char.

Shortness of gameplay doesn't really bother me, I think you should just say that it's designed that way. Make it so that player can't get all tools etc, at one try, so theres a balance that needs to be thought, for example speed calculated from weigth and equipments. Veins of rock could have few spaces, so that diamonds, etc could be harvested without better drill, just rushing to depths with fire shields.

Sounds are more than nice, but still need more diversity and lenght.

If you dont make multiplayer, i'll copy this idea and rush to fame with it. ;P

and "replay, replay, replay and balance" that's the way to hook us all.



brianjasko13brianjasko13

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars July 22, 2012

Great game. The music and simplicity of the game made it awesome. I just wish it was a little bit longer. It was really fun playing the game, though :D



DEMIOS-XLDEMIOS-XL

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars December 10, 2012

so good!!!! i love this game!!!!!!