Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Apr 15, 2012 | 10:00 AM EDT
  • Daily 2nd Place April 16, 2012
  • Weekly 5th Place April 18, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • flixel
    flixel A collection of games made with the flixel framework!

Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Being generous! 5 Points Give John some money.
COAL 5 Points Find coal.
IRON 5 Points Find iron.
Start off your adventure! 5 Points Enter Utopia.
Vamos a la playa! 5 Points Get some sand.
A good investment... 10 Points Give Dave some money for his project.
Engineer 10 Points Help building the steammachine.
GOLD 10 Points Find gold.
It works! 10 Points Make the steammachine work.
WOLFRAM 10 Points Find wolfram.
DIAMOND 25 Points Find diamond.
Expensive experiments 25 Points Give George some smaragds.
Project completed! 25 Points Give Dave some sand.
RUBY 25 Points Find ruby.
Saving electricity 25 Points Give George some wolfram.
SMARAGD 25 Points Find smaragd.
The COre 25 Points Get the COre.
Jewelry 50 Points Give Jamie some rubies.
Hero 100 Points Finish the game
A rich robot! Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Cool! Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
The perfect robot Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

Daily 2nd place, frontpaged, so many kind reviews and such a nice rating! Well, thanks a lot guys, you're awesome! :D

EDIT: This game was inspired by 'Motherload'. It is about mining ores and selling them to buy upgrades and drill deeper. Utopian Mining is part of this mining genre, so the games share the same basic concept. However, I did my very best to make it different to other mining games, by adding a different atmosphere, a story, some quests, cartoony-8bit-graphics and another feeling to it (and some other small stuff, too).

I hope you enjoy playing it. :)

Welcome to Utopia!
A few days ago a storm destroyed nearly the whole town.
Help these people and find out more about the Core-Ore...
Mine around as a mining robot, earn money, buy better hardware and complete missions.

This game has a few missions, different upgrades for your robot like drills, chasis, cooling liquids and batteries, awesome music made by Kevin MacLeod, some selfmade 8bit sounds, and lots of coal, iron, gold, wolfram, smaragd, ruby and diamonds!

How to play:
'LEFT', 'UP', 'RIGHT', 'DOWN' - move around
'X' - interact with things
'C' - cancel or leave
'J' - jobs
'M' - map
'I' - inventory

Reviews


RileyssRileyss

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars August 31, 2012

It's a fun game but you can finish it pretty quickly, once you get the best cooling liquid you can go everywhere and get the COre almist without effort..



karsten1karsten1

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars May 15, 2012

Loved it but i think you should add more ore and missions to the games also rubie upgrades. that would be nivce.



SteffipantsSteffipants

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars April 22, 2012

Very Good. I enjoyed playing [:



TheOrdinaryGruntTheOrdinaryGrunt

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars November 20, 2012

Very similar to Motherload which is why I love this game. I beat in 2 hours and got everything.

This is a brilliant game and best played from start.

Only complaint: The game is short in my opinion. But still a brilliant game.


People find this review helpful!

DracoErrarusDracoErrarus

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars April 16, 2012

This is a good sim, although it is still very basic.

My favorite parts of this game are the music, a good number of quests, and a relaxing nature to the gameplay.

But I feel that this game could be improved in a lot of ways. How, though, depends on what kind of game you want. One way would be to add monsters, making the game more like Minecraft. This would bring challenge and a new dimension to the game. Buying weapons alongside mining tools would be fun, too. But as I said, I like the relaxing nature to the game, and I think it would be better to build on that instead. Building upon the variety of upgrades and quests could make the game bigger without making it boring.

The map, I discovered, was far larger than the current number of quests or upgrades needed. I would recommend making the better upgrades more expensive than they are now to draw out the game a little longer. The money rewards from quests were far too much, too, as it seemed that I made money from quests way, way faster than from mining. The "allowances" were rewarding enough. Please add more diversity to the quests, too. I found that my favorite quest was to dig up sand: the one quest that didn't take an ordinary "inventory" item. Please make more quests like that.

Here's a few thoughts to what could help the mechanics of the game. It would be nice if better inventory items automatically replaces cheaper stuff. It is annoying to come across expensive materials and not being able to pick it up because my bag is full of coal. Even if this 'replacing mechanism' were an upgrade, it would be nice. Also, I noticed that there is no material on the bottom layers. Is that due to programming the mother load? It kinda seemed like a waste of space. Finally, I saw that the materials would show up on the map, but they're the same color as dug up pathways. It would be nice if it were another color, (or a color for each kind of material. Whoopee!)

Overall, this is the kind of game that I love playing. Thank you for making it!


People find this review helpful!