Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Apr 15, 2012 | 10:00 AM EDT
  • Daily 2nd Place April 16, 2012
  • Weekly 5th Place April 18, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • flixel
    flixel A collection of games made with the flixel framework!

Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Being generous! 5 Points Give John some money.
COAL 5 Points Find coal.
IRON 5 Points Find iron.
Start off your adventure! 5 Points Enter Utopia.
Vamos a la playa! 5 Points Get some sand.
A good investment... 10 Points Give Dave some money for his project.
Engineer 10 Points Help building the steammachine.
GOLD 10 Points Find gold.
It works! 10 Points Make the steammachine work.
WOLFRAM 10 Points Find wolfram.
DIAMOND 25 Points Find diamond.
Expensive experiments 25 Points Give George some smaragds.
Project completed! 25 Points Give Dave some sand.
RUBY 25 Points Find ruby.
Saving electricity 25 Points Give George some wolfram.
SMARAGD 25 Points Find smaragd.
The COre 25 Points Get the COre.
Jewelry 50 Points Give Jamie some rubies.
Hero 100 Points Finish the game
A rich robot! Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Cool! Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
The perfect robot Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

Daily 2nd place, frontpaged, so many kind reviews and such a nice rating! Well, thanks a lot guys, you're awesome! :D

EDIT: This game was inspired by 'Motherload'. It is about mining ores and selling them to buy upgrades and drill deeper. Utopian Mining is part of this mining genre, so the games share the same basic concept. However, I did my very best to make it different to other mining games, by adding a different atmosphere, a story, some quests, cartoony-8bit-graphics and another feeling to it (and some other small stuff, too).

I hope you enjoy playing it. :)

Welcome to Utopia!
A few days ago a storm destroyed nearly the whole town.
Help these people and find out more about the Core-Ore...
Mine around as a mining robot, earn money, buy better hardware and complete missions.

This game has a few missions, different upgrades for your robot like drills, chasis, cooling liquids and batteries, awesome music made by Kevin MacLeod, some selfmade 8bit sounds, and lots of coal, iron, gold, wolfram, smaragd, ruby and diamonds!

How to play:
'LEFT', 'UP', 'RIGHT', 'DOWN' - move around
'X' - interact with things
'C' - cancel or leave
'J' - jobs
'M' - map
'I' - inventory

Reviews


fidu21fidu21

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 19, 2012

awesome game! completeded it, and got a bit scared when i got the COre before i reached that mission... i thought i was going to have to start over... ¡but i did not have to! ¡awesome coding!



zman0306zman0306

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 20, 2012

This is a fun game and make more!



TreyWestTreyWest

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 15, 2012

overall, a very nice mining game, the music was upbeat enough not to put you to sleep, but calming enough to make it nice to listen to. graphics, while they did there job well, could definetely have been better. storyline, or what was there anyway, did make for a nice side quest of getting to the bottom, even if I was a bit saddened you didn't really make use of the quest system to look for minerals your already past... or that they didn't give you anything special other then cash... so far as I could tell, I could get the last thing as soon as I got the shop opened and completely ignored the quests almost completely. also, with all of the instructions you have to wade through, it would've been nice to have that 'c' was cancel as well, had to look at your instructions below to figure that out in the shop...
overall, while the game is very well put together, it could have used a bit more in the ways of having the quest system more expansive and more necessary, adding in actual hazards so you have to actually watch out for stuff, something to use money on at the end of the game (was sitting at 100k+ after 3 trips to bottom with nothing to spend it on) and updating graphics a bit, and flesh out the story a bit more, you would have a real winner here.
however, for the people that want a nice calming mining game to waste an hour or 2 on that they don't have to think about much... this fits the bill very nicely.


People find this review helpful!

linden6622linden6622

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 25, 2012

a great game l never will stop playing it. it is great!


People find this review helpful!

PhilDengerPhilDenger

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 15, 2012

Pretty good game!!
Simple, funny and relaxing.


People find this review helpful!
Schulles responds:

Nice, thanks! :)