Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Apr 15, 2012 | 10:00 AM EDT
  • Daily 2nd Place April 16, 2012
  • Weekly 5th Place April 18, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • flixel
    flixel A collection of games made with the flixel framework!

Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Being generous! 5 Points Give John some money.
COAL 5 Points Find coal.
IRON 5 Points Find iron.
Start off your adventure! 5 Points Enter Utopia.
Vamos a la playa! 5 Points Get some sand.
A good investment... 10 Points Give Dave some money for his project.
Engineer 10 Points Help building the steammachine.
GOLD 10 Points Find gold.
It works! 10 Points Make the steammachine work.
WOLFRAM 10 Points Find wolfram.
DIAMOND 25 Points Find diamond.
Expensive experiments 25 Points Give George some smaragds.
Project completed! 25 Points Give Dave some sand.
RUBY 25 Points Find ruby.
Saving electricity 25 Points Give George some wolfram.
SMARAGD 25 Points Find smaragd.
The COre 25 Points Get the COre.
Jewelry 50 Points Give Jamie some rubies.
Hero 100 Points Finish the game
A rich robot! Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Cool! Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
The perfect robot Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

Daily 2nd place, frontpaged, so many kind reviews and such a nice rating! Well, thanks a lot guys, you're awesome! :D

EDIT: This game was inspired by 'Motherload'. It is about mining ores and selling them to buy upgrades and drill deeper. Utopian Mining is part of this mining genre, so the games share the same basic concept. However, I did my very best to make it different to other mining games, by adding a different atmosphere, a story, some quests, cartoony-8bit-graphics and another feeling to it (and some other small stuff, too).

I hope you enjoy playing it. :)

Welcome to Utopia!
A few days ago a storm destroyed nearly the whole town.
Help these people and find out more about the Core-Ore...
Mine around as a mining robot, earn money, buy better hardware and complete missions.

This game has a few missions, different upgrades for your robot like drills, chasis, cooling liquids and batteries, awesome music made by Kevin MacLeod, some selfmade 8bit sounds, and lots of coal, iron, gold, wolfram, smaragd, ruby and diamonds!

How to play:
'LEFT', 'UP', 'RIGHT', 'DOWN' - move around
'X' - interact with things
'C' - cancel or leave
'J' - jobs
'M' - map
'I' - inventory

Reviews


doom750doom750

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 13, 2012

if you start you can still get iron by going down until okay almost ends then go left or right and you might find iron


People find this review helpful!

GeneralEiGeneralEi

Rated 4 / 5 stars May 13, 2012

I've always loved mining upgrading games, and the 8-bit pixleated feel is fresh for this type of game, but I do feel that the Motherload vibe was just a bit too strong on this one.
But I still liked the idea of a storyline.
Good job.


People find this review helpful!

JoureiJourei

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars May 13, 2012

Really a great game, but the fact that it has a storyline is quite strange. A game like this looks like it would be merely endless.

The pace you get the equipment is much too fast. And, well, there is really no difficulty in the game at all...
I went from the default to smaragd to diamond equipment. I could've also gone straight to diamond on some...

But in general a neat game even though the game idea itself is not new.


People find this review helpful!

KapuRiporKapuRipor

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 13, 2012

Very funny game, i liked it very much but i wished it was longer, I also agree with PsychoFreak99, Special treaures would make people playing it also after the end to find them all.



PsychoFreak99PsychoFreak99

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars May 12, 2012

Fun game, decent amount of challenge. If I could make one improvement, add special one find only "treasures" throughout the map that sell for a high amount. Crowns, Holy Grail, those types of things. The extra hunt could keep people playing even after the end.