Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Apr 15, 2012 | 10:00 AM EDT
  • Daily 2nd Place April 16, 2012
  • Weekly 5th Place April 18, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


  • FlxAdventure
    FlxAdventure by SeiferTim2
    • Game
    • Rated E
    • 65,718 Views
  • Cat Astro Phi
    Cat Astro Phi by PhotonStorm
    • Game
    • Rated E
    • 437,360 Views
  • Verge
    Verge by xraven13
    • Game
    • Rated E
    • 287,664 Views
  • Looming
    Looming by GregoryWeir
    • Game
    • Rated E
    • 490,408 Views
  • Canabalt
    Canabalt by AdamAtomic
    • Game
    • Rated E
    • 1,541,620 Views
  • REDDER
    REDDER by dessgeega
    • Game
    • Rated E
    • 529,715 Views

Plenty more like this here!


  • flixel
    flixel A collection of games made with the flixel framework!

Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Being generous! 5 Points Give John some money.
COAL 5 Points Find coal.
IRON 5 Points Find iron.
Start off your adventure! 5 Points Enter Utopia.
Vamos a la playa! 5 Points Get some sand.
A good investment... 10 Points Give Dave some money for his project.
Engineer 10 Points Help building the steammachine.
GOLD 10 Points Find gold.
It works! 10 Points Make the steammachine work.
WOLFRAM 10 Points Find wolfram.
DIAMOND 25 Points Find diamond.
Expensive experiments 25 Points Give George some smaragds.
Project completed! 25 Points Give Dave some sand.
RUBY 25 Points Find ruby.
Saving electricity 25 Points Give George some wolfram.
SMARAGD 25 Points Find smaragd.
The COre 25 Points Get the COre.
Jewelry 50 Points Give Jamie some rubies.
Hero 100 Points Finish the game
A rich robot! Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Cool! Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
The perfect robot Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

Daily 2nd place, frontpaged, so many kind reviews and such a nice rating! Well, thanks a lot guys, you're awesome! :D

EDIT: This game was inspired by 'Motherload'. It is about mining ores and selling them to buy upgrades and drill deeper. Utopian Mining is part of this mining genre, so the games share the same basic concept. However, I did my very best to make it different to other mining games, by adding a different atmosphere, a story, some quests, cartoony-8bit-graphics and another feeling to it (and some other small stuff, too).

I hope you enjoy playing it. :)

Welcome to Utopia!
A few days ago a storm destroyed nearly the whole town.
Help these people and find out more about the Core-Ore...
Mine around as a mining robot, earn money, buy better hardware and complete missions.

This game has a few missions, different upgrades for your robot like drills, chasis, cooling liquids and batteries, awesome music made by Kevin MacLeod, some selfmade 8bit sounds, and lots of coal, iron, gold, wolfram, smaragd, ruby and diamonds!

How to play:
'LEFT', 'UP', 'RIGHT', 'DOWN' - move around
'X' - interact with things
'C' - cancel or leave
'J' - jobs
'M' - map
'I' - inventory

Reviews


sonicstrikers3214sonicstrikers3214

Rated 0 / 5 stars September 23, 2012

sucks



DrNeroDrNero

Rated 4 / 5 stars September 22, 2012

Awesome game great job! 4/5 for the reason that id like to have more than 5 upgrades. Its getting boring to go to the surface every minute to sell ores.


People find this review helpful!

korrahlkorrahl

Rated 2.5 / 5 stars September 19, 2012

Original story for a very copied game. Fun, but very glitchy. It gets really slow at the final levels, and also the upgrades don't always show what you already own and let's you purchase the same upgrade again.



FlippedTurtleToonsFlippedTurtleToons

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 18, 2012

Great game, I love it. So fun.



SachbirSachbir

Rated 4 / 5 stars September 16, 2012

This was a very fun game, but I hate writing reviews of praise, so here is some constructive criticism instead.:

First of all, I really did not like that the controls were X and C instead of Z and X. I have become so used to that that I have placed my finger at the wrong spot multiple times while playing this game. It is something the player can work around, but it's a bit of an annoyance.

Also, when controlling the character, it would often go one block further than I intended. I don't know if that was my mistake, and yes, you can get used to it, but again, it was a bit of an annoyance.

The upgrades were good, but they were few, and they weren't balanced in price. While the first ones took a good amount of time to get, I was able to get max upgrades very early on. It would have been nice to make those last upgrades a real challenge, were it wouldn't take only a couple of jobs to upgrade. Make me work to get the upgrades I so desperately want; it'll only make me want it more.

As I mentioned above, I would have liked to have more upgrades. The ones that were present were good, but I would have split the chasis upgrade into 1 for shield and one for storage, instead of having a single upgrade solve both purposes. Similarly, I would have had a separate upgrade to control speed. It's nice to have more things to work for.

Another issue I had was with the storage. I'm not sure if this was intentional, but whatever I was asked for in the jobs was just a little less than my maximum storage. This frustrated me so much because I would have to make one trip and intentionally miss what I am looking for, then empty my inventory and come back. I would have loved to have a larger storage, but what would have been better would be if I could just give the person as many ores as I currently have, or if I could sell all ores but the one I am saving. Maybe even have the option to chuck the less valuable ores.

On the note of jobs, I felt like the jobs were a bit repetitive. In a game of this nature, I understand the difficulty of changing it up, but maybe if the jobs couldn't be unique, then the layers of depth could be different. Add natural gas that would damage the robot, or maybe underground lakes that would flood a mine path and make it inaccessible by the robot. Maybe even make one of the jobs reward you with the ability to move through water. Money wasn't useful to me after a while; I would have preferred abilities instead.

Finally, the ending. The end needs to be epic. Something crazy and different, but something that makes the player feel accomplished. I want to feel like I haven't just done the same thing one more time. Just making up something on the spot, but imagine having a large deposit of COre at the end of the game. Such a large deposit, that you need your entire inventory to fill it up, but because of the depth, you only have one chance to go down there and get it all. Then, as you pick the last one, the area becomes unstable, The ground begins to become unstable. You rush to the top, Indiana Jones style, with rocks falling on you, and dirt collapsing on the mine tunnels. You make it out at the last second. Some of the city has taken damage, but with the COre, you can easily rebuild it. Flash forward 5 years, later, and you see this city has become so advanced, using completely renewable energy, and becoming the perfect utopia.
That is just a suggestion, but do you see the intensity I was trying to convey? The end is one of the most critical aspects of a game, so you need to make it stand out.

If you have read all of this, then know that I don't mean to say that this game is bad, or that it's not worth played. I only hope that you read this, and incorporate at least some of this into your next project, so that it can be even better. Keep up the good work


People find this review helpful!