Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Apr 15, 2012 | 10:00 AM EDT
  • Daily 2nd Place April 16, 2012
  • Weekly 5th Place April 18, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • flixel
    flixel A collection of games made with the flixel framework!

Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Being generous! 5 Points Give John some money.
COAL 5 Points Find coal.
IRON 5 Points Find iron.
Start off your adventure! 5 Points Enter Utopia.
Vamos a la playa! 5 Points Get some sand.
A good investment... 10 Points Give Dave some money for his project.
Engineer 10 Points Help building the steammachine.
GOLD 10 Points Find gold.
It works! 10 Points Make the steammachine work.
WOLFRAM 10 Points Find wolfram.
DIAMOND 25 Points Find diamond.
Expensive experiments 25 Points Give George some smaragds.
Project completed! 25 Points Give Dave some sand.
RUBY 25 Points Find ruby.
Saving electricity 25 Points Give George some wolfram.
SMARAGD 25 Points Find smaragd.
The COre 25 Points Get the COre.
Jewelry 50 Points Give Jamie some rubies.
Hero 100 Points Finish the game
A rich robot! Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Cool! Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
The perfect robot Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

Daily 2nd place, frontpaged, so many kind reviews and such a nice rating! Well, thanks a lot guys, you're awesome! :D

EDIT: This game was inspired by 'Motherload'. It is about mining ores and selling them to buy upgrades and drill deeper. Utopian Mining is part of this mining genre, so the games share the same basic concept. However, I did my very best to make it different to other mining games, by adding a different atmosphere, a story, some quests, cartoony-8bit-graphics and another feeling to it (and some other small stuff, too).

I hope you enjoy playing it. :)

Welcome to Utopia!
A few days ago a storm destroyed nearly the whole town.
Help these people and find out more about the Core-Ore...
Mine around as a mining robot, earn money, buy better hardware and complete missions.

This game has a few missions, different upgrades for your robot like drills, chasis, cooling liquids and batteries, awesome music made by Kevin MacLeod, some selfmade 8bit sounds, and lots of coal, iron, gold, wolfram, smaragd, ruby and diamonds!

How to play:
'LEFT', 'UP', 'RIGHT', 'DOWN' - move around
'X' - interact with things
'C' - cancel or leave
'J' - jobs
'M' - map
'I' - inventory

Reviews


jeckular10jeckular10

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 17, 2012

ahhhhhhhhhhh its such an amazing game and i accidentally quit b4 id fineshed and hadent saved ahhhhjhhhghhh this thing is stupid im going to rage quit



TheFinalFanTheFinalFan

Rated 4 / 5 stars April 17, 2012

Well, while this game is a great call-back to Motherlode back on XGen Studios, it does have a few flaws in an otherwise great game.
1. There appears to be no way of muting the music. I have been playing for 3 hours, and I honestly want to listen to something else, but there's no way of playing this game and listening to the remix of the Yogscast's "Diggy Diggy Hole" at the same time.
2. The upgrades either need to be expanded or increased in price. I had the final upgrades well before I needed to go to the COre, making the game ridiculously easy.
3. I don't know if anyone else had this problem, but I tend to be a thorough miner, so I would fill up my inventory very quickly. And once I had maxed my upgrades out, my money was worthless to me, so I figured I could simply keep digging...until the warning system annoyed the heck out of me. Please make the warnings either optional or less annoying.
4. I don't remember it being mentioned that you could save at the Memory Tree in the intro, making it a bit confusing as to how I was supposed to save, quit, and come back later.
All in all, an excellent game that actually has very few similarities to Minecraft, but it could be tweaked slightly.
Does anyone know how to mute the sound to the game so I can play songs on YouTube?



qq7activejgammaqq7activejgamma

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars April 17, 2012

Fun and cheesy
way too easy
:)



BobbrigeBobbrige

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 17, 2012

This is alot like minecraft. Great gameplay, neat graphics, to make an overall 5 stars.



TransparentPresenceTransparentPresence

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars April 17, 2012

This game is really reminiscent of minecraft...as most people can already tell...I say reminiscent because it ISN'T minecraft...just because there's digging for treasure and tunnels involved doesn't mean it's a rip off of minecraft, even minecraft was based on something. Sheesh.

I really enjoyed this game, however I'll be honest I was disappointed somewhat. I finished the game in like 2 hours flat or even less time than that...and like after that, there was no incentive for me to keep playing. If you make a sequel (and please please please please make a sequel, there aren't many games like this floating in cyberspace) maybe you could add other things to keep people entertained other than questing...like idk, you figure it out, I mean this is a building(kinda)/mining/adventure game of sorts. The possibilities are endless really.

Apart from those small complaints, the game was an incredibly fascinating experience. And I'm gonna add that the music was great, and even though it kept on repeating I never got tired of it.

Now excuse me while I play through the game again because my browsers a piece of **** and didn't save some of my medals...

Keep it up, nice game. End of story. Make a sequel.