Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Apr 15, 2012 | 10:00 AM EDT
  • Daily 2nd Place April 16, 2012
  • Weekly 5th Place April 18, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • flixel
    flixel A collection of games made with the flixel framework!

Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Being generous! 5 Points Give John some money.
COAL 5 Points Find coal.
IRON 5 Points Find iron.
Start off your adventure! 5 Points Enter Utopia.
Vamos a la playa! 5 Points Get some sand.
A good investment... 10 Points Give Dave some money for his project.
Engineer 10 Points Help building the steammachine.
GOLD 10 Points Find gold.
It works! 10 Points Make the steammachine work.
WOLFRAM 10 Points Find wolfram.
DIAMOND 25 Points Find diamond.
Expensive experiments 25 Points Give George some smaragds.
Project completed! 25 Points Give Dave some sand.
RUBY 25 Points Find ruby.
Saving electricity 25 Points Give George some wolfram.
SMARAGD 25 Points Find smaragd.
The COre 25 Points Get the COre.
Jewelry 50 Points Give Jamie some rubies.
Hero 100 Points Finish the game
A rich robot! Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Cool! Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
The perfect robot Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

Daily 2nd place, frontpaged, so many kind reviews and such a nice rating! Well, thanks a lot guys, you're awesome! :D

EDIT: This game was inspired by 'Motherload'. It is about mining ores and selling them to buy upgrades and drill deeper. Utopian Mining is part of this mining genre, so the games share the same basic concept. However, I did my very best to make it different to other mining games, by adding a different atmosphere, a story, some quests, cartoony-8bit-graphics and another feeling to it (and some other small stuff, too).

I hope you enjoy playing it. :)

Welcome to Utopia!
A few days ago a storm destroyed nearly the whole town.
Help these people and find out more about the Core-Ore...
Mine around as a mining robot, earn money, buy better hardware and complete missions.

This game has a few missions, different upgrades for your robot like drills, chasis, cooling liquids and batteries, awesome music made by Kevin MacLeod, some selfmade 8bit sounds, and lots of coal, iron, gold, wolfram, smaragd, ruby and diamonds!

How to play:
'LEFT', 'UP', 'RIGHT', 'DOWN' - move around
'X' - interact with things
'C' - cancel or leave
'J' - jobs
'M' - map
'I' - inventory

Reviews


TegukiTeguki

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 18, 2012

This is a fun and relaxing waste of time.
In my opinion, I don't think that this game is trying to be anything more than that, and I don't believe that it needs to aspire to anything more. It made me happy to play it and that's all I expect from any game.

Now that I look at my clock, I see that I have sunk two hours into this game. However, I wasn't bored or frustrated by it at all. The art is nice, the music engaging, and the tasks blissfully mundane. All in all, the best waste of time I've come across in the last week.



muffinsoulmuffinsoul

Rated 4 / 5 stars April 18, 2012

eh, beaten it, was overall a good game.
Only complaints I have are about the shop and the diffculty curve.
The game is very difficult early on, struggeling to get the money you need to recharge your battery etc etc... but after just a few upgrades, all challnge is gone.
The shop... just becomes unneccery very quikly, I allready had all the upgrade by the time I got the the rubys, and I just didn't even bother mining anything.
I think these two issues need to be addressed.
Other then that, a pretty good game.


People find this review helpful!

Lochie12Lochie12

Rated 0.5 / 5 stars April 18, 2012

My god damn labrutory person says: 'I need some wolfram please!' I do have some wolfram so fuck u.



SuakerSuaker

Rated 3 / 5 stars April 18, 2012

The game is very reminiscent of Dig-Dug and Motherload. While you got rid of an annoying problem in Motherload (being unable to dig upwards), you also got rid of the need for strategy. Once you get the best cooling liquid you can just make a straight line to the bottom of the map, harvest diamonds and buy every other upgrade.

The game is fun for a little while but then it becomes too easy. There's no strategy needed (part of the challenge and fun of Motherload was to plan your tunnels so you can get the goodies and get out quickly). The game is short and it also lacks variety. When I finished the right half of my map was still untouched (except for the the beach). It was a good way to kill an hour and get some achievements easily though


People find this review helpful!

Jukhom001Jukhom001

Rated 4 / 5 stars April 18, 2012

Good game, very addictive.
one thing i found ironic - the more you destroy and rape the ground for materials to industrialize the town, the more the tree grows...?
It was fun though, that was the one thing i found ironic.
loved the graphics and the feel of it, and it was generally interesting.