Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Apr 15, 2012 | 10:00 AM EDT
  • Daily 2nd Place April 16, 2012
  • Weekly 5th Place April 18, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • flixel
    flixel A collection of games made with the flixel framework!

Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Being generous! 5 Points Give John some money.
COAL 5 Points Find coal.
IRON 5 Points Find iron.
Start off your adventure! 5 Points Enter Utopia.
Vamos a la playa! 5 Points Get some sand.
A good investment... 10 Points Give Dave some money for his project.
Engineer 10 Points Help building the steammachine.
GOLD 10 Points Find gold.
It works! 10 Points Make the steammachine work.
WOLFRAM 10 Points Find wolfram.
DIAMOND 25 Points Find diamond.
Expensive experiments 25 Points Give George some smaragds.
Project completed! 25 Points Give Dave some sand.
RUBY 25 Points Find ruby.
Saving electricity 25 Points Give George some wolfram.
SMARAGD 25 Points Find smaragd.
The COre 25 Points Get the COre.
Jewelry 50 Points Give Jamie some rubies.
Hero 100 Points Finish the game
A rich robot! Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Cool! Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
The perfect robot Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

Daily 2nd place, frontpaged, so many kind reviews and such a nice rating! Well, thanks a lot guys, you're awesome! :D

EDIT: This game was inspired by 'Motherload'. It is about mining ores and selling them to buy upgrades and drill deeper. Utopian Mining is part of this mining genre, so the games share the same basic concept. However, I did my very best to make it different to other mining games, by adding a different atmosphere, a story, some quests, cartoony-8bit-graphics and another feeling to it (and some other small stuff, too).

I hope you enjoy playing it. :)

Welcome to Utopia!
A few days ago a storm destroyed nearly the whole town.
Help these people and find out more about the Core-Ore...
Mine around as a mining robot, earn money, buy better hardware and complete missions.

This game has a few missions, different upgrades for your robot like drills, chasis, cooling liquids and batteries, awesome music made by Kevin MacLeod, some selfmade 8bit sounds, and lots of coal, iron, gold, wolfram, smaragd, ruby and diamonds!

How to play:
'LEFT', 'UP', 'RIGHT', 'DOWN' - move around
'X' - interact with things
'C' - cancel or leave
'J' - jobs
'M' - map
'I' - inventory

Reviews


MLScherbatovMLScherbatov

Rated 4 / 5 stars April 5, 2013

Really great, but i think a few things need polishing up... the walking speed while above ground is a little slow given how much walking you need to do, and I would like to see a little more varied control scheme (allow for WASD movement, esc to quit menus instead of both c and esc, and clicking the buttons instead of just hotkey use). Just some suggestions. Great job, keep it up!



imaslut1212imaslut1212

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 5, 2013

I love the budder ore



OakhornOakhorn

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 3, 2013

10/10 would recommend



StephStarstrukkStephStarstrukk

Rated 4 / 5 stars April 2, 2013

I personally loved it! I liked the retro feel to it, and it took me a while to actually mine enough to beat it, so it kept me busy enough. I just have one thing to say about it, you should add more jobs after the final one, that way the diamonds have some sort of purpose other than just for money. Also, I didn't QUITE like how you just put the sand in there for one mission, it seemed pointless.

Add in some jobs after you actually beat it or more main missions during the storyline, so there is more to do, and give some of the things you added more meaning and purpose in the game, and I think you will have true gem of a game! :)


People find this review helpful!

123coolpop123coolpop

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 30, 2013

it took me so long to do the scientist quests but after them it got kinda easy also id like to point out that if you have an upgrade but have below its cost it will say you need to buy it please try and fix it overall great game 5/5


People find this review helpful!