Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Apr 15, 2012 | 10:00 AM EDT
  • Daily 2nd Place April 16, 2012
  • Weekly 5th Place April 18, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • flixel
    flixel A collection of games made with the flixel framework!

Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Being generous! 5 Points Give John some money.
COAL 5 Points Find coal.
IRON 5 Points Find iron.
Start off your adventure! 5 Points Enter Utopia.
Vamos a la playa! 5 Points Get some sand.
A good investment... 10 Points Give Dave some money for his project.
Engineer 10 Points Help building the steammachine.
GOLD 10 Points Find gold.
It works! 10 Points Make the steammachine work.
WOLFRAM 10 Points Find wolfram.
DIAMOND 25 Points Find diamond.
Expensive experiments 25 Points Give George some smaragds.
Project completed! 25 Points Give Dave some sand.
RUBY 25 Points Find ruby.
Saving electricity 25 Points Give George some wolfram.
SMARAGD 25 Points Find smaragd.
The COre 25 Points Get the COre.
Jewelry 50 Points Give Jamie some rubies.
Hero 100 Points Finish the game
A rich robot! Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Cool! Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
The perfect robot Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

Daily 2nd place, frontpaged, so many kind reviews and such a nice rating! Well, thanks a lot guys, you're awesome! :D

EDIT: This game was inspired by 'Motherload'. It is about mining ores and selling them to buy upgrades and drill deeper. Utopian Mining is part of this mining genre, so the games share the same basic concept. However, I did my very best to make it different to other mining games, by adding a different atmosphere, a story, some quests, cartoony-8bit-graphics and another feeling to it (and some other small stuff, too).

I hope you enjoy playing it. :)

Welcome to Utopia!
A few days ago a storm destroyed nearly the whole town.
Help these people and find out more about the Core-Ore...
Mine around as a mining robot, earn money, buy better hardware and complete missions.

This game has a few missions, different upgrades for your robot like drills, chasis, cooling liquids and batteries, awesome music made by Kevin MacLeod, some selfmade 8bit sounds, and lots of coal, iron, gold, wolfram, smaragd, ruby and diamonds!

How to play:
'LEFT', 'UP', 'RIGHT', 'DOWN' - move around
'X' - interact with things
'C' - cancel or leave
'J' - jobs
'M' - map
'I' - inventory

Reviews


ItsLikeEatingFlowersItsLikeEatingFlowers

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 21, 2012

i loved it but would of been nice to have more missions x



lolledminecraftlolledminecraft

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 21, 2012

wery addicting... untill u play it trough. got it in 20 minutes not so hard but good.



Nightshade72Nightshade72

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars April 21, 2012

quite a good game, but the only downsides are:
-too easy
-finshed in under 40 minutes making it feel short
-like lyvith said, there should be more monsters to make gameplay more interesting
-once you get the top cooling system you might as well be able to get the core, even though i didnt try

otherwise, great game!



RokiosRokios

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 21, 2012

Took me 47 minutes Completed game and medals. Awesome Game 5/5 Nice relaxing music And nice Theme


People find this review helpful!

lyvithlyvith

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars April 21, 2012

- should add a mute button
- little too easy can get to 'core' after finishing lab probably sooner if you spend money well or mine minerals for money
- could add enemy to make more difficult (the storm brought monsters from the forest)
- could have a bit where monsters attacked the city and you can build walls using materials (wood from trees/iron/diamond whatever you have on hand)
- could add second harder level where the scientist is evil (or something else less cliche) and you have to mine ect. to save city from his evil monsters.
- another way to make harder would have less minerals and have them clustered in pockets or runs like real gems/gold along with a bigger map (however this could also make it more boring to some)
- perhaps add something players can buy to encourage mining for money (little things such as a gem detector or something that stops you from mining stuff when your full or the ability to get rid of useless stuff you mine by accident or just colors to paint your robot ect)
- also your character is a robot so think up some robotie things he could to like use coal as energy when your in a fix or have underground water that will short-circuit you or something else robotie

I always liked "Motherload" hell I got a version of it on my ipod called "I dig it" but I hope if you decide to upgrade and re-release this game that you will start to move more away from "motherloads" shadow.


People find this review helpful!