Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Apr 15, 2012 | 10:00 AM EDT
  • Daily 2nd Place April 16, 2012
  • Weekly 5th Place April 18, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • flixel
    flixel A collection of games made with the flixel framework!

Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Being generous! 5 Points Give John some money.
COAL 5 Points Find coal.
IRON 5 Points Find iron.
Start off your adventure! 5 Points Enter Utopia.
Vamos a la playa! 5 Points Get some sand.
A good investment... 10 Points Give Dave some money for his project.
Engineer 10 Points Help building the steammachine.
GOLD 10 Points Find gold.
It works! 10 Points Make the steammachine work.
WOLFRAM 10 Points Find wolfram.
DIAMOND 25 Points Find diamond.
Expensive experiments 25 Points Give George some smaragds.
Project completed! 25 Points Give Dave some sand.
RUBY 25 Points Find ruby.
Saving electricity 25 Points Give George some wolfram.
SMARAGD 25 Points Find smaragd.
The COre 25 Points Get the COre.
Jewelry 50 Points Give Jamie some rubies.
Hero 100 Points Finish the game
A rich robot! Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Cool! Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
The perfect robot Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

Daily 2nd place, frontpaged, so many kind reviews and such a nice rating! Well, thanks a lot guys, you're awesome! :D

EDIT: This game was inspired by 'Motherload'. It is about mining ores and selling them to buy upgrades and drill deeper. Utopian Mining is part of this mining genre, so the games share the same basic concept. However, I did my very best to make it different to other mining games, by adding a different atmosphere, a story, some quests, cartoony-8bit-graphics and another feeling to it (and some other small stuff, too).

I hope you enjoy playing it. :)

Welcome to Utopia!
A few days ago a storm destroyed nearly the whole town.
Help these people and find out more about the Core-Ore...
Mine around as a mining robot, earn money, buy better hardware and complete missions.

This game has a few missions, different upgrades for your robot like drills, chasis, cooling liquids and batteries, awesome music made by Kevin MacLeod, some selfmade 8bit sounds, and lots of coal, iron, gold, wolfram, smaragd, ruby and diamonds!

How to play:
'LEFT', 'UP', 'RIGHT', 'DOWN' - move around
'X' - interact with things
'C' - cancel or leave
'J' - jobs
'M' - map
'I' - inventory

Reviews


KakoopaKakoopa

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 24, 2012

I really enjoyed this game, mostly because of how fun it was, and how interesting, the story was pretty great, if not just a bit too short.
longer, because there would have been more to it. But, anyways.
I really liked the graphics, simple, but awesome. The gameplay was very enjoyable, and kept me going for quite a while, it was fair, and lasted me for a good hour, and I think it was an hour worth spending. I really liked that this game had achievements, so thank you for that, and, to top this off, the music was spectacularly calming, giving for such a great experience.
All in all, this game was amazing.
5/5


People find this review helpful!

PureAwesomeness0PureAwesomeness0

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 24, 2012

Great! I can't stop playing it one complaint though the game is a little repetetive and once you beat it there really isn't anything else to do, not even easter eggs or maybe challenges to accomplish so if you were to make a 2nd that would be awesome and maybe you could make it have more replay value, great game though one of my favorites in a long time.


People find this review helpful!

UndamagedRookUndamagedRook

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 24, 2012

All the hours playing minecraft has paid off. I have completed this wonderful tale of the mining robot and I have to say you did an excellent job at this. The pixel characters are simple and friendly, yet I can't put my finger on the person who wanted rubies...

''Shut up and take my money''
Now where have I heard that phrase before? ;D

All in all, this game was fun to play and I simply enjoyed it. Keep on creating those awesome games!


People find this review helpful!

JimmyTheCaterpillarJimmyTheCaterpillar

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars April 23, 2012

It starts out slow and tedious at first, but as you get more and more upgraded, money is extremely easy to come by. Fun game!


People find this review helpful!

OrbnotacusOrbnotacus

Rated 2.5 / 5 stars April 23, 2012

I've had enough mining games to last me a few lifetimes... I like the 8-bit, but there's nothing all too great about this game. :/