Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Apr 15, 2012 | 10:00 AM EDT
  • Daily 2nd Place April 16, 2012
  • Weekly 5th Place April 18, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • flixel
    flixel A collection of games made with the flixel framework!

Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Being generous! 5 Points Give John some money.
COAL 5 Points Find coal.
IRON 5 Points Find iron.
Start off your adventure! 5 Points Enter Utopia.
Vamos a la playa! 5 Points Get some sand.
A good investment... 10 Points Give Dave some money for his project.
Engineer 10 Points Help building the steammachine.
GOLD 10 Points Find gold.
It works! 10 Points Make the steammachine work.
WOLFRAM 10 Points Find wolfram.
DIAMOND 25 Points Find diamond.
Expensive experiments 25 Points Give George some smaragds.
Project completed! 25 Points Give Dave some sand.
RUBY 25 Points Find ruby.
Saving electricity 25 Points Give George some wolfram.
SMARAGD 25 Points Find smaragd.
The COre 25 Points Get the COre.
Jewelry 50 Points Give Jamie some rubies.
Hero 100 Points Finish the game
A rich robot! Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Cool! Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
The perfect robot Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

Daily 2nd place, frontpaged, so many kind reviews and such a nice rating! Well, thanks a lot guys, you're awesome! :D

EDIT: This game was inspired by 'Motherload'. It is about mining ores and selling them to buy upgrades and drill deeper. Utopian Mining is part of this mining genre, so the games share the same basic concept. However, I did my very best to make it different to other mining games, by adding a different atmosphere, a story, some quests, cartoony-8bit-graphics and another feeling to it (and some other small stuff, too).

I hope you enjoy playing it. :)

Welcome to Utopia!
A few days ago a storm destroyed nearly the whole town.
Help these people and find out more about the Core-Ore...
Mine around as a mining robot, earn money, buy better hardware and complete missions.

This game has a few missions, different upgrades for your robot like drills, chasis, cooling liquids and batteries, awesome music made by Kevin MacLeod, some selfmade 8bit sounds, and lots of coal, iron, gold, wolfram, smaragd, ruby and diamonds!

How to play:
'LEFT', 'UP', 'RIGHT', 'DOWN' - move around
'X' - interact with things
'C' - cancel or leave
'J' - jobs
'M' - map
'I' - inventory

Reviews


LibrarysageLibrarysage

Rated 4 / 5 stars May 2, 2012

Hey, this was a great game.

A couple of glitches I noticed, however. In the purchasing of the Chassis, I believe the third one down continued to show a price, and continued to let me pay for it even after I'd already purchased it.

Also, one of the best parts of the game was the music. What was the song used in the opening credits as well as when you're mining? I tried the buy link and going to Kevin's website, but there seems to be no way of isolating that song.


People find this review helpful!

CoopCoop

Rated 4 / 5 stars May 2, 2012

It's been done before - mine a certain resource, upgrade your equipment and when you're done, you get some super plot device right at the bottom of the map. I can't really give it any more plaudits, as if I did, they should be directed at the original author, who created this concept. I'm sure I've even played a game like this that could be viewed as better, thus making this an inferior clone, but I won't go that far.

If you look at my medal collection, you'll note that I did indeed take the time over a few lunch hours to get every medal for this game. It's a grind, but anyone with two brain cells to rub together and a most basic rudimentary knowledge of the principle of gaming can work this one out within minutes. Yes, the plot was well written, but the difficulty curve was very steep to start with and then it dropped off dramatically, as you got enough money to do stuff, like buy the second or third tranche of upgrades. Suddenly, the mining tactic of expose as much of the map as possible, by mining the fewest squares, to expose everything paid off. A few runs later and I was minted, so down to the next level, to get Smaragd, whatever the hell that is, rubies and diamonds, to add to the collection.

The "original", if I can call it that, for it may even be a clone itself, had additional features, such as teleporters that you could place underground, to speed up the mining process. Throwing a few more features in there would be nice, as would explaining that C cancels any open window, as in the first few exchanges, I did have trouble finding that out, having obviously skipped over a page of the tutorial, by pressing X.

I know that the graphics are supposed to be 8-bit and it works in a kind of "you played this when you were a child, Coop" sort of way. It's endearing and for revisiting my childhood and padding my medal score, I have some decent score to hand to you. Thanks.

[Review Request Club]


People find this review helpful!

GeneralOnxGeneralOnx

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 2, 2012

I enjoyed playing this game very much. More upgrades and some elaboration on the COre ore would be cool. Otherwise, great game!


People find this review helpful!

VagrantHakuVagrantHaku

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 2, 2012

The game was amazing!



MrmyerstMrmyerst

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars May 2, 2012

Good game- just what I wanted to play.
Was left wanting more though.
Would have liked it longer and/or harder :)