Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Mar 31, 2012 | 2:55 PM EDT
  • Daily 5th Place April 1, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

Update 1 (4/4/12) Patch Notes:
http://flashtavern.newgro unds.com/news/post/704224

---

Destrocity is a game where you take control of a giant in a populated city and nearby neighborhood. You can slam the ground with your fists causing explosions and damage to anything nearby. Explosions will send the city's inhabitants and vehicles skyward. Climb the city buildings and knock them to the ground. Feast on the people to boost your stamina. Pickup vehicles or vendors and toss them into oblivion. Or maybe you want to perform a devastating elbow drop from the top of a skyscraper? Depending on which gamemode you are playing, you will be able to purchase skills and upgrades to help you along your way. Be wary though, as the city's military will be sent to kill you.

Reviews


Mayko-the-ThrasherMayko-the-Thrasher

Rated 4 / 5 stars April 2, 2012

I agree with sly sloth. That and I would love to see some more upgrades.



SlySlothSlySloth

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars April 2, 2012

A fun simple game that remind's me alot of Rampage. A enjoyable game but i would suggest to have a way to jump off the side of the building so you don't have to slowly climb your way back down and to be able to regain health by eating people. But overall a fun game


People find this review helpful!
FlashTavern responds:

SlySloth, consider it added. I'm also considering adding a "building hopping" feature as some others have suggested that allows you to jump off of one building onto an adjacent one. Thanks for reviewing, my friend. Appreciation, as always.


ChibiChiuChibiChiu

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars April 2, 2012

The score shouldn't be taken as a bad thing. The graphics ARE simple, thus matching the stick theme. The current difficulty level seems somewhat balanced: I died repeatedly during the first week, but by day 8 I had sufficiently upgraded my skill set and found it far easier to rampage as I please...though aircrafts are still tough to knock down. Overall, quite a bit of fun and a decent way to blow off some steam~.



CauthornCauthorn

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars April 2, 2012

Personally, I don't think I would honk my horn if I was driving through a demolished city and came upon a giant standing in the middle of the road. It would just seem...unwise.
Of course, even if I were 15ft. tall I don't know if I could knock down a skyscraper just by punching the ground next to it a few times so maybe giants aren't all they're cracked up to be.

All jokes aside I did enjoy your game. TarraIronWolf has some good suggestions but here's my two cents:

1)There needs to be harder cities, or a larger city, or maybe just weaker upgrades. By day 3, with 2 regen upgrade, 2 health upgrades, 2 strength upgrades, and 1 healing skill, I was literally invincible. Not only is the game not challenging if you take less damage than you heal, once you destroy all the buildings there really nothing to do except laugh at stupid motorists and commit suicide by cop.

2)The buildings are really at the heart of any city destruction game, on way or another. Here, although they were worth a lot of point, they weren't all that interesting and the funnest thing to do (destroy them while climbing on them) emptied your stamina bar. I'm not suggesting you rampantly rip-off Rampage but I think it would be cool if there were more things to do with the buildings. Get on top and bad at airplanes for example, oh, no, wait...

3)The cars, too, I think could be used more thoroughly. I really like how when you destroyed a house a person came out; maybe some of the stopped cars should have people fleeing from them too. It might also be nice if we could pick-up and throw the vehicles.

Hmm, reviewing my review it looks like I'm just telling you to remake Rampage, which isn't really what I meant. But, hey, it got relicensed several years ago now and there aren't any copies (readily) available on the internet anymore so maybe there's a niche there. You're already doing a good job and seem to be enjoying it so maybe I should just leave you to it and stop rambling.

P.S. I loved the birds


People find this review helpful!
FlashTavern responds:

Cauthorn, hello my friend! I am currently trying to scale out the difficulty to a happy medium between everyone. It's proving to be quite difficult but I'm sure I'll eventually be able to nail a good scale. Your suggestions are awesome, though. I'd like to incorporate something more with the vehicles, possibly "skating" on top of cars or picking them up and tossing them as you suggested. A larger city would also do wonders. Thanks for the in-depth review. It is much appreciated!


rocky7833rocky7833

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars April 2, 2012

i like it