Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Mar 25, 2012 | 4:19 AM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice March 28, 2012
  • Daily Feature March 26, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Mercy 5 Points Don't kill any traitors or cowards in Mission 1A.
Slaughter Rank: Greenhorn 5 Points [Career] Kill 50 enemies in Arena Mode.
Nexus Victory [Easy] 10 Points Defeat the Nexus HQ on Easy Difficulty
Nexus Victory [Normal] 10 Points Defeat the Nexus HQ on Normal Difficulty
Slaughter Rank: Bloodied 10 Points [Career] Kill 200 enemies in Arena Mode.
Slaughter Rank: Impaler 10 Points [Career] Kill 350 enemies in Arena Mode.
Nexus Victory [Hard] 25 Points Defeat the Nexus HQ on Hard Difficulty
Savior's Sword 25 Points Find Jesus's hidden blade in Story Mode.
Slaughter Rank: Psychopath 25 Points [Career] Kill 1000 enemies in Arena Mode.
Slaughter Rank: Seas of Blood 25 Points [Career] Kill 2000 enemies in Arena Mode.
Slaughter Rank: Wargod 25 Points [Career] Kill 600 enemies in Arena Mode.
Slaughter Rank: Greater Than 9000 50 Points [Career] Kill 9001 enemies in Arena Mode.
Slaughter Rank: Impossible 50 Points [Career] Kill 5000 enemies in Arena Mode.
Do What Comes Natural 100 Points Defeat the Nexus HQ on Hard Difficulty without playing Hank.
Slaughter Rank: Genocider 100 Points [Career] Kill 53,594 enemies in Arena Mode (Pfffft Good Luck!)
Can You Hear Me Now Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

UPDATE: Our Kickstarter for Project Nexus 2, the 3D sequel to this game, is now LIVE! We need YOUR help if we're going to give Nexus 1 the sequel it deserves. THANK YOU from Krinkels n Swain!
https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/500655604/madness-project-nexus-2

Follow us on Tumblr: teammadness.tumblr.com for development details and sneak peeks, and on Facebook /projectnexus2 to come chat with us about updates and such.

-------------------
This game currently features:

* Arena Mode - Play through the Nexus Training Program and become the most powerful L337 Unit in all of Nevada!

* Story Mode - Take down Project Nexus, selecting from a handful of heroes from the Madness universe to do the job.

But the story is not over! This game will be updated with more missions, more story, more game modes, and MOAR MADNESS.

Hope you enjoy!
-Krinkes & Swain 4EVER

-------------------

// ******* UPDATE LOG v1.7: ******* //
* ZOMBIE ARENA MODE!
* NEW GUNS: Thompson, MP40, G36, AutomagV, and P1445
* NEW HELMETS: All sorts of tasty treats.
* LOW QUALITY BACKGROUNDS OPTION - Good for laggy computers on Arena mode!
* NEW NPC: Cheshyre added to Arena. He is a Zombie wreckingball.
* M249 NERFED - Rifle perks no longer apply, and it's a pain in the ass to lug around.
* MOAR DEATHS: Four new ways for suckas to die.

// ******* UPDATE LOG v1.8: ******* //
* STORY MODE: Brand new EPISODE 1.5!
* NEW WEAPONS: ElectroCannon and Science-y stuff.
* NEW ENEMIES: Abominations, Sleepwalker Patients, Riot Guards, and more!
* NEW NPC: Luis is ready to drink all of your liquor.

Thanks for your patience on eliminating these bugs. Not everything translates well from testing after release :( Good news is, with you guys helping me find problems, I can eliminate them even more quickly! Keep it coming, and thanks for helping us out while we try to make Project Nexus a better game for you!
-Swain

Reviews


NucleusSRBNucleusSRB

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 11, 2012

MOARRRRRRRRRRRRRRR!!



FoolioloFooliolo

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars May 11, 2012

Make no mistake, this is an incredible game in its own right, and it definitely trumps the first Madness game that was meant to model the combat. First impressions were great, as things flowed smoothly and it didn't rely on luck a whole lot, to ease players into the game. Aside from a few hitches, things were quite smooth and natural from start to finish.

However, I don't think this is a submission that's quite ready for big retail. I'm excusing the lack of content (of which there's plenty for a flash game), as I understand it's simply an issue of time. Rather, as a Genocider, I find there's a couple mechanical details that I really didn't like at all.

First and foremost, one of the things that I enjoyed about the Madness Combat series was the blood splattering everywhere. It's a minor feature, but it doesn't quite feel the same without it, especially in the more creative ways of killing guys. You have the costumes, you have bodies that can be mutilated in 12+ different ways (disregarding simple pencil-sized bullet wounds), you have bullet holes in walls, hell, you even have bloody chunks flying off of them when things get gory. But no blood splatter that leaves permanent stains? This just isn't right.

As a side note, there's also various enemy reactions when they're dead, but some of them are just outright middle fingers in your face. I'm talking about the human wall. Guy stands there obviously going to die, but he just staggers back and forth for about 4 seconds until he finally falls, M-249 blazing or not. I really, REALLY don't appreciate having to deal with such assholes. It was cool the first time. But if I want to just get on with my business, let me eject a couple rounds into his scalp or foot to flip him over like I can clearly do with certain other people. And let me be able to do this consistently.

Secondly, your tutorial kinda sucks. I haven't played it in a while so it might have been updated. But you didn't explain how to pick up the AR that you obtain from the locker when you see it the first time. What if we want to pick up the AR? Do we just mash all the buttons until we find out, or do we trust Mr. Tutorial to tell us later, possibly way after the event of relevance? Space to crouch behind obstacles? Sure sounds handy, if only there were more than one obstacle in the entire story mode. Not to mention the arena has two of them, but the tutorial doesn't exist there, so that's too bad if you're jumping into the game by starting arena mode. And when I think of bullet time, I think of time slowing down so you can react faster. It didn't occur to me that you actually get stronger in other ways too when you use bullet time.

Third, the aiming and "dimensions" of the game don't quite exactly match up. I realize this is a difficult issue, as I've thought about it myself quite a bit. However, as a result of the current system, it's difficult to hit someone directly above/below you, and attempting to attack someone by throwing stuff at them is unreliable. I would miss G03LMs 90% of the time when I try to chuck things at them from a close distance after whacking off their helmets. Then there are the egregious walls. I've talked about the standing corpses already, but the other one is the obstacles in the arena mode. I'm blazing my guns left and right, but then suddenly a guy takes cover behind and obstacle and saves all his mates behind him from eating lead. Wtf? Why can I shoot guys behind the barrel just fine when no one is actually taking cover? In short, all of this doesn't feel good and needs to be reworked.

Fourth, dumb teammates. Fuck. I don't mind that Hank gets shot in the cranium by the MAG agent when he was actually aiming for me. Because he's so ineffective. By no means am I suggesting to make the game easy-mode, but this is a gross injustice.

And then there's the fact that somehow every time when you update the game, something in the save file breaks. Getting guns I didn't own was cool, but it was also annoying.

Geez I need more review space. GL HF. Stuff.


People find this review helpful!

iihatemondaysiihatemondays

Rated 3 / 5 stars May 11, 2012

a bug is that when you log in from a different computer you will have too start everything all over again



RazieIRazieI

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 11, 2012

I lost Deimos, Jesus, Krinkels, Sanford, and Tricky, and finally lost Hank and my own life on wave 56.

Awesome game, Krinkels and Swain. Keep it up.

Also, I get the feeling that, after wave 40, you're actually TRYING to kill me.

Oh, and before I forget. There's a glitch with the M-249. I had a laser sight on it, but when my character had it equipped, the sight wasn't there. Not sure if the stat increase was there or not either. Wasn't anything really big, just annoying is all.


People find this review helpful!

MWSoapMactavishMWSoapMactavish

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 11, 2012

TO:DJMegaBit to gain endurance you must play in arena at least 1 round and survive it(Optional) or die it to gain experience when your gain enough experience your will get three skill points and other three points that you can spend on Endurance and other stats good luck.


People find this review helpful!