Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Mar 6, 2012 | 9:28 AM EST
  • Daily 2nd Place March 7, 2012
  • Weekly 4th Place March 7, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

A cutout style animation, based on story I wrote

Edit: First off, I really want to thank people who left comments and reviews. I can't respond to each individually, but I did read them all and I got a lot of helpful feedback and interesting interpretations on this story.

I think this animation is a little more open ended than the original story, which in a way I like because so far people have different views on what the point of this story is

In the original story, there is somewhat more importance on the pig's head because of its connotations and it is more clear cut. First of all, most people are pretty disgusted by eating a pig's head and it is a disgusting sight to have to face. Second of all, many poor families would eat a pig's head because they were trying to be economical by using every part of the pig... There is also more of a family dynamic between the husband and wife and the servants, and how they takes sides in the original story. I never actually state what causes their relationship to go wrong, but maybe viewers will see for themselves what they want to see

It is interesting to see how viewers pin blame on the husband, while maybe others might see it as the fault of the wife or maybe both the husband and wife are awful people... Or just people who have fallen astray

But I am writing another story I plan to animate, and I am definitely looking back on these comments to guide me because they were pretty great.

(P.s. if you are a sound artist and would maybe be interested in my next project which is a little similar to this, maybe pm me!)

Reviews


castl3rionn3castl3rionn3

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 7, 2012

awesome details, epic background music, meaningful plot! a perfect way to tell a story! very nice work!



drakke125drakke125

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 8, 2012

i wonder what of the elderly servants. and I'm a bit puzzled by the animals cuz its like a scene i've seen somewhere and I feel like I'm seeing a bit of alice in wonderland ish thing. I do like the music and the emotions, as well as the character designs.


People find this review helpful!

newhansennewhansen

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 6, 2012

This is really good stuff! Beautifull drawings in a sort of art nouveau style or something like that :) Story is excelent with an open ending (sequel, sequel!!)
Music was really really good and clever, though i guess it wasnt written exclusive for this animation which is a shame. You should check the MAC 2012 for some collab ^^

Last thing; The scenes when u move from a total-shot to a close/medium-close aren't that fluently, if you know what I mean. I dont know how to fix that though. :)



BlueTazzBlueTazz

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 6, 2012

How did you get the file size to be so small compared to the length and graphics of the video?

Am I missing something?



raphthemanraphtheman

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 9, 2012

The first thing that came to my mind for some reason was The Cat Returns by studio gibli. This seems to have that same mysterious feel to it, but with a more Tim Burton style (maybe). Quite unique and wondrously done. Loved every moment of it.