Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Mar 6, 2012 | 9:28 AM EST
  • Daily 2nd Place March 7, 2012
  • Weekly 4th Place March 7, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

A cutout style animation, based on story I wrote

Edit: First off, I really want to thank people who left comments and reviews. I can't respond to each individually, but I did read them all and I got a lot of helpful feedback and interesting interpretations on this story.

I think this animation is a little more open ended than the original story, which in a way I like because so far people have different views on what the point of this story is

In the original story, there is somewhat more importance on the pig's head because of its connotations and it is more clear cut. First of all, most people are pretty disgusted by eating a pig's head and it is a disgusting sight to have to face. Second of all, many poor families would eat a pig's head because they were trying to be economical by using every part of the pig... There is also more of a family dynamic between the husband and wife and the servants, and how they takes sides in the original story. I never actually state what causes their relationship to go wrong, but maybe viewers will see for themselves what they want to see

It is interesting to see how viewers pin blame on the husband, while maybe others might see it as the fault of the wife or maybe both the husband and wife are awful people... Or just people who have fallen astray

But I am writing another story I plan to animate, and I am definitely looking back on these comments to guide me because they were pretty great.

(P.s. if you are a sound artist and would maybe be interested in my next project which is a little similar to this, maybe pm me!)

Reviews


LucidHeartLucidHeart

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 6, 2012

Quite clever. Though there are complaints about the ending, it seems rather clear cut. I rather enjoyed the sense of irony when it seemed as if the pig's head had eaten the human.


People find this review helpful!

BlazejsgBlazejsg

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 9, 2012

I have no idea how to express my feelings to this, and how I can relate to this.

It also reminded me of Alice in Wonderland-like story.
At first I saw the pictures how the man and the women were growing apart, as it goes on the cat pops in.
She uses the cat for comfort, and feels more bonded with the cat then her husband.
The pig head somehow winks at the cat assuming they had a special plan for this day.

Then she walks into a strange forest, looking for the cat that she felt guilty for taking the pig head.
She stumbles into a strange figure frightened by it at first, but then figured "What do I have to lose?"
So she accepts the invitation and meets the cat.
Astonished as she is, she then feels a mysterious urge to trust the cat since it reminds her of hers.
Event by event she then falls in love with the masked figure..
Until she runs away with him.

Although this is just my theory not necessarily true.

Anyway..
Thank you, this is now my favorite fairy tale of all time!
It sure beats "Alice In Wonderland".

I'm looking forward to seeing more of you =) Big Fan<3~


People find this review helpful!

crazymeriocrazymerio

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 12, 2012

I think the story pushes you toward siding with the wife too much. Maybe it could have had something happening with the husband that was also fantasy like to even out the characters a little more. Other than that very good animation, art style, sound and story. Keep animating.



TwilightRogueTwilightRogue

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 9, 2012

Everything...just fits. The pacing (of both the movie and the characters), the angle the 'shots' were taken from, the expressions, the music...and the right feeling of whimsy along with the changing heavyness of each setting. If there is any one thing I would point out, its probably the fact that the (pet) cat is always below the camera focus, even in the picture, and it blends in well, so I noticed it in a lot more scenes during the second viewing. With that said, I eagerly look forward to more from you.


People find this review helpful!

MrLoiguMrLoigu

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 7, 2012

Love your work,you used a very interesting style for this animation,and executed the message in an artistic and clear way.Its works like these that make me wanna keep animating.Keep it up.