Support NATA 2014

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Mar 6, 2012 | 9:28 AM EST
  • Daily 2nd Place March 7, 2012
  • Weekly 4th Place March 7, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

A cutout style animation, based on story I wrote

Edit: First off, I really want to thank people who left comments and reviews. I can't respond to each individually, but I did read them all and I got a lot of helpful feedback and interesting interpretations on this story.

I think this animation is a little more open ended than the original story, which in a way I like because so far people have different views on what the point of this story is

In the original story, there is somewhat more importance on the pig's head because of its connotations and it is more clear cut. First of all, most people are pretty disgusted by eating a pig's head and it is a disgusting sight to have to face. Second of all, many poor families would eat a pig's head because they were trying to be economical by using every part of the pig... There is also more of a family dynamic between the husband and wife and the servants, and how they takes sides in the original story. I never actually state what causes their relationship to go wrong, but maybe viewers will see for themselves what they want to see

It is interesting to see how viewers pin blame on the husband, while maybe others might see it as the fault of the wife or maybe both the husband and wife are awful people... Or just people who have fallen astray

But I am writing another story I plan to animate, and I am definitely looking back on these comments to guide me because they were pretty great.

(P.s. if you are a sound artist and would maybe be interested in my next project which is a little similar to this, maybe pm me!)

Reviews


ApocalypseLayneApocalypseLayne

Rated 4 / 5 stars March 7, 2012

This story tells us how a woman leaves her husband and shows us her love for furries.


People find this review helpful!

09CArventos09CArventos

Rated 4 / 5 stars March 10, 2012

Well, this was quite the interesting tale.
It felt kind of depressing, but the ending seemed just right.


People find this review helpful!

EnactJudoEnactJudo

Rated 4 / 5 stars March 7, 2012

Not bad at all- but I found some of the tweening a little rough and sloppy. It seemed to show the most during the side view shot of the woman walking.

As for interpretation- it's either about how an affair may happen in a stale marriage, or maybe an ode to cats Vs. husbands.


People find this review helpful!

Pure-Metal-UTAPure-Metal-UTA

Rated 4 / 5 stars March 7, 2012

When it goes into the psyche I would blame the relationship going astry on the husband. When the nanny enters the room the wife does look extremely depressed, and during the dinner the husband looked bored. Once the cat ran out with the head the husband made her go get it as though it was all her fault and her responsibility In that sense he is at the least verbally abusive. And in that time period, women didn't really get their say in things, they were controlled by their man. She was fed up and wanted more and obviously the mutant looking thingy had that and it swept her away with just a pleasant dance. Ya completely the husband's fault.
There are things that may be overlooked by some that brings out more detail in the story. If you're going for it again with a new story, try and make these little details stand out a bit more. Good work though!



GheataGheata

Rated 4 / 5 stars March 7, 2012

Her walking should be improved. The story is half wahy finished. I didn't liked the end at all. The art is amazing, I can't believe you worked so much on it. i liked the music. Overall score... 8