Support NATA 2014

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Mar 6, 2012 | 9:28 AM EST
  • Daily 2nd Place March 7, 2012
  • Weekly 4th Place March 7, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

A cutout style animation, based on story I wrote

Edit: First off, I really want to thank people who left comments and reviews. I can't respond to each individually, but I did read them all and I got a lot of helpful feedback and interesting interpretations on this story.

I think this animation is a little more open ended than the original story, which in a way I like because so far people have different views on what the point of this story is

In the original story, there is somewhat more importance on the pig's head because of its connotations and it is more clear cut. First of all, most people are pretty disgusted by eating a pig's head and it is a disgusting sight to have to face. Second of all, many poor families would eat a pig's head because they were trying to be economical by using every part of the pig... There is also more of a family dynamic between the husband and wife and the servants, and how they takes sides in the original story. I never actually state what causes their relationship to go wrong, but maybe viewers will see for themselves what they want to see

It is interesting to see how viewers pin blame on the husband, while maybe others might see it as the fault of the wife or maybe both the husband and wife are awful people... Or just people who have fallen astray

But I am writing another story I plan to animate, and I am definitely looking back on these comments to guide me because they were pretty great.

(P.s. if you are a sound artist and would maybe be interested in my next project which is a little similar to this, maybe pm me!)

Reviews


guywholaughsguywholaughs

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 6, 2012

I think the primary aspect of this animation and the story in general that really gives it character is it's parallel to a silent film. The lack of dialogue presents this idea of a story based on what you see and leads one (or atleast it lead me) to find things that lie a little deeper than perhaps you even imagined. I very much enjoyed this and hope to see more from you both as an animator and as an author.


People find this review helpful!

hitmanchrishitmanchris

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 6, 2012

They were both miserable, and in the end both of them got what they wanted. The ex-husband got his ring and diner back while she became the crazy cat lady and spent the rest of her time in a blissful fantasy world. I do love happy endings. Good job.


People find this review helpful!

AnimeWolfGrl007AnimeWolfGrl007

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 6, 2012

You should publish this story somewhere. I loved the animation and how well the story was told without words. I also loved the plot and would love to read you story.


People find this review helpful!

WabefuhonWabefuhon

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars March 6, 2012

Such are the ways of relationships. A man can take thing sof granted that he never realizes what he has lost until it is too late. In a way, he deserved it.
The story was very good. Actions speak louder than words.


People find this review helpful!

WingZero75WingZero75

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 6, 2012

I dont know if I quite like the style, but the animation was pretty good. What forced me to give it a 5 was the story. You were able to tell a short novel in just a couple minutes, AND, without using words. I was quite impressed. ( I say short novel because it would be needed to explain with words what you did visually)

I am going to have to add it to my list of favorites. Great job on this submission.


People find this review helpful!